Fact sheet: 2-chlorophenol

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

95-57-8

Molecular formula

C6H5ClO

Formula weight

128.6 g/mol

Family

Phenolic compounds

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point 9 0C / 175 0CNormally liquid in soil
Relative density1.26Sinks in water
Vapour pressure2 mm HgModerately volatile
Vapour density4.4Much denser than air
Solubility in water25,000 mg/LVery soluble
Henry's law constant6 x 10-6atm·m3/molSlow volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)2.1 - 3.5*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, 2-chlorophenol is a liquid denser than water and moderately volatile. Characterized as very soluble, once dissolved, it volatilizes slowly and adsorbs moderately to organic matter. In the event of a spill, this compound will evaporate but the majority of the material will enter into the soil or migrate into a water course. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), 2-chlorophenol will dissolve (primarily) or sink until it reaches an impermeable surface. The liquid 2-chlorophenol that accumulates in a saturated zone will dissolve rapidly before it slowly volatilizes. The adsorbed 2-chlorophenol will disappear relatively quickly, liberating contamination primarily in the dissolved phase, as well as in a gaseous state. The resulting dissolved plume can be relatively large whereas the gaseous plume will be relatively small in size.

Health and safety

2-chlorophenol should be handled with care, as it is toxic, corrosive and flammable.

Principal resources

Chlorinated phenols are manufactured by the chlorination of phenol. Chlorophenols have been used as biocides and for the production of more chlorinated phenols. The chlorophenols have also been used as antiseptics, although they have largely been replaced by other chemical antiseptics. 2-chlorophenol is a chemical intermediate in phenolic resins and is used as a solvent for polyester fibers.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1999. Toxicological profile for Chlorophenols. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, U.S.A. (Viewed December 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : 2-chlorophénol

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

95-57-8

Formule chimique 

C6H5ClO

Masse moléculaire

128,6 g/mol

Famille

Composés phénoliques

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition 9 0C / 175 0CHabituellement sous forme liquide dans le sol
Densité 1,26Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur2 mm HgMoyennement volatil
Densité de vapeur4,4Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau25,000 mg/LTrès soluble
Constante, loi de Henry6 x 10-6atm·m3/molVolatilisation lente lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)2.1 - 3.5*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le 2-chlorophénol est un liquide plus dense que l'eau et moyennement volatil. Très soluble, il se volatilise lentement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore un peu, mais surtout, s'infiltre dans le sol ou ruisselle vers un cours d'eau. Lorsqu'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le 2-chlorophénol sous forme liquide sera solubilisé (principalement) ou s'écoulera jusqu'à ce qu'il rencontre une surface imperméable. Le 2-chlorophénol liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé rapidement avant de se volatiliser faiblement. La phase adsorbée créée par le déversement disparaît assez rapidement en libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse et soluble (surtout). Le panache de la phase dissoute peut être assez important, mais celui de la phase gazeuse est généralement assez réduit.

Santé et sécurité

Le 2-chlorophénol doit être manipulé avec précaution, car il est toxique, corrosif et inflammable.

Sources principales

Les chlorophénols sont obtenus par chloration directe du phénol avec du chlore gazeux. Les chlorophénols ont été utilisés comme biocides et pour la production de phénols plus chlorés. Les chlorophénols ont aussi été utilisés comme antiseptiques, mais ils ont été en grande partie remplacés par d'autres antiseptiques chimiques. Le 2-chlorophénol est un intermédiaire chimique dans la production de résines phénoliques et est aussi utilisé comme solvant pour les fibres de polyester

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1999. Toxicological profile for Chlorophenols. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, U.S.A. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date de modification :