Fact sheet: 2-methylnaphthalene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page

General information

CAS number

91-57-6

Molecular formula

C11H10

Formula weight

142.2 g/mol

Family

Monocyclic aromatic hdrocarbons (MAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point 35 °CSolid
Relative density1.01 g/cm3Floats or sinks in water
Vapour pressure0.05 mm HgLow volatility
Vapour density0N/A
Solubility in water25 mg/LLow solubility
Henry's law constant4 x 10-4 atm·m3/molModerate volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)3.0 - 5.0*Strong adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, 2-methylnaphthalene is a solid with a relative density at the limits of floating or sinking in water. It is characterized by low volatility, low solubility, and once dissolved, it volatilizes moderately while adsorbing strongly to organic matter. When present in soil, it volatizes partially and dissolves slowly. Once dissolved, 2-methylnaphthalene can reach the water table or migrate into a waterway, where it will be diluted before partially volatilizing. Fragments of 2-methylnaphthalene can also be carried into a waterway, where they will either disperse on the surface or be deposited at the bottom, and then slowly dissolve. Once the source has been removed, the adsorbed phase will take a very long time to disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state.

Health and safety

2-Methylnaphthalene should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

2-Methylnaphthalene is a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon (PAH). PAHs are a group of organic compounds that contain two or more benzene rings in their structure. There are more than 100 different PAHs that generally occur as complex mixtures (example, combustion by-products such as soot). Incomplete combustion of fuels in engines, during coal coking, or when wood is burning (forest fires, wood stoves) produces PAHs. PAHs are also constituents of petroleum and coal, and they are more present in some of their derivatives like tars and asphalt. The wood preservative industry (example, creosote), aluminum smelters using Soderberg electrodes, and hazardous waste disposal sites are further contributors of anthropogenic PAHs to the environment.

2-Methylnaphthalene may be obtained from coal tar. It is used in vitamin K production, in the preparation of some insecticides and brightnening agents, and as a chemical in biochemical or cancer research. It can also be chlorinated and oxidized to form dyes, and small amounts in sulfonated form are used as textile aids, wetting agents and emulsifiers. 2-Methylnaphthalene is most likely to be found mixed with other PAHs in commercial products like coal tar, coal tar pitch, creosote, bitumen and asphalt. Coal tar is used as a fuel in the steel industry, distilled to give coal tar pitch and creosote, and has been used in the clinical treatment of skin disorders such as eczema and dermatitis. Coal tar pitch is used primarily as a binder for aluminum smelting electrodes, but is also used in roofing, surface coatings and a variety of other applications. Creosote is used to preserve wood for railroad ties, marine pilings and telephone poles. Some creosote products are also used as a fuel by steel production. Bitumen and asphalt are used for paving roads, for sound- and water-proofing, and coating pipes.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2005. Toxicological Profile for Naphthalene, 1-Methylnaphthalene, and 2-Methylnaphthalene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed December 2013)

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. 1999. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life: Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons (PAHs). In: Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed December 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

National Toxicology Program. 2005. Report on Carcinogens, Twelfth Edition: Substance Profile of Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Services, USA.(PDF, 142KB) (Viewed December 2013)

Version:
1.2.2

Fiche descriptive : 2-méthylnaphtalène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

91-57-6

Formule chimique 

C11H10

Masse moléculaire

142,2 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aromatiques monocycliques (HAM)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition 35 0CSous forme solide
Densité 1,01Flotte ou se dépose au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur0.05 mm HgPeu volatil
Densité de vapeur0N/A
Solubilité dans l’eau25 mg/LPeu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry4 x 10-4 atm·m3/molVolatilisation modérée lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)3.0 - 5.0*Adsorption forte sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le 2-méthylnaphtalène est un solide peu volatil et peu soluble. Il se volatilise modérément lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe fortement sur la matière organique. Lorsque présent dans le sol, ce produit se volatilise très légèrement ou se solubilise lentement. La forme soluble peut atteindre la nappe phréatique ou s'écouler vers un cours d'eau où elle se dilue, avant de se volatiliser partiellement. Des fragments de 2-méthylnaphtalène peuvent aussi être entraînés et se déposer au fond d'un cours d'eau, puis s'y solubiliser lentement. Une fois la source disparue, la phase adsorbée prend très longtemps avant de disparaître à son tour, libérant les formes gazeuse et soluble du contaminant. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse sont de taille réduite.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le 2-méthylnaphtalène est toxique.

Sources principales

Le 2-méthylnaphtalène est un hydrocarbure aromatique polycyclique (HAP). Les HAP sont un groupe de composés organiques contenant dans leur structure deux anneaux benzéniques ou plus. Les HAP, il y en a plus de 100 différents, se retrouvent rarement à l'état pur, mais plutôt en mélange avec plusieurs autres dans des produits complexes (comme dans la suie par exemple). Les HAP sont présents dans le charbon et le pétrole brut, et sont plus concentrés dans certains de leurs dérivés comme le goudron et le bitume. Des HAP sont générés lorsqu'une combustion est incomplète : cokéfaction du charbon, moteurs à combustion interne, bois qui brûle (feux de forêt, poêles à bois). L'industrie de la préservation du bois (créosote), les alumineries (électrodes Soderberg) et les sites d'élimination des matières dangereuses sont d'autres sources d'HAP dans l'environnement.

Le 2-méthylnaphtalène peut être obtenu du goudron ou du pétrole. Il est utilisé pour la fabrication de la vitamine K, d'insecticides, d'agents d'avivage (« brightening agents »), de colorants, de surfactants et pour la recherche (biochimie, cancer). Le 2-méthylnaphtalène se retrouve aussi, en mélange avec d'autres HAP, dans des produits commerciaux comme le goudron, le brai (« pitch »), la créosote, le bitume et l'asphalte. Le goudron est utilisé comme combustible dans les sidérurgies, est distillé pour donner du brai et de la créosote et a déjà été utilisé à des fins médicales (traitements pour la peau). Le brai est surtout utilisé comme agent liant dans les électrodes pour les alumineries, mais est aussi utilisé sur les toitures, comme enduit et dans bien d'autres applications. La créosote est surtout utilisée pour préserver le bois des traverses de chemin de fer, des poteaux (téléphone, électricité) et des piliers immergés. Le bitume et l'asphalte sont utilisés pour paver les routes, comme enduit pour les tuyaux et comme agents d'insonorisation et d'imperméabilisation.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2005. Toxicological Profile for Naphthalene, 1-Methylnaphthalene, and 2-Methylnaphthalene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques (HAP). Dans: Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, Manitoba, Canada. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

National Toxicology Program. 2005. Report on Carcinogens, Twelfth Edition: Substance Profile of Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Services, USA.(PDF, 142KB) (consulté en décembre 2013)

Date de modification :