Fact sheet: Tetrachloroethene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

127-18-4

Molecular formula

C2Cl4

Formula weight

165.8 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -20 0C / 121 0CLiquid
Relative density1.62Sinks in water
Vapour pressure15 mm HgModerately volatile
Vapour density5.7Denser than air
Solubility in water151 mg/LLow solubility
Henry's law constant1 x 10-2 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)2.3 - 2.8*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, tetrachloroethane is a liquid denser than water and moderately volatile. Characterized by low solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and adsorbs moderately to organic matter. During a spill, this compound will partially evaporate but may also enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), the tetrachloroethane will primarily sink, or dissolve until it reaches an impermeable surface. The liquid tetrachloroethane that accumulates in a saturated zone will slowly dissolve before partially volatilizing. The adsorbed tetrachloroethane in the vadose and saturated zones will take time to disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous (primarily) or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively limited in size.

Health and safety

Tetrachloroethene should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

Tetrachloroethene is a widely used synthetic chemical. Most tetrachloroethene is produced by one of two processes: direct chlorination of simple hydrocarbons such as methane, ethane, propane or propene, or oxychlorination of ethene to co-produce trichloroethene and tetrachloroethene. Tetrachloroethene is used primarily as a cleaning solvent, in dry cleaning and textile processing, metal cleaning and as a chemical precursor for fluorocarbons.

In dry cleaning, tetrachloroethene is able to dissolve fats, greases, waxes and oils without harming natural or man-made fibers. In textile processing, tetrachloroethene is used as a scouring solvent that removes oils from fabrics after knitting and weaving operations. Since tetrachloroethene dissolves many organic compounds, some inorganic compounds, and high-melting pitches and waxes, it can be used to clean and dry contaminated metal parts and other fabricated materials. It is also used to remove soot from industrial boilers.

As a chemical intermediate, tetrachloroethene is primarily used in the production of 1,1,1,2 tetrafluoroethane, a popular alternative to chlorofluorocarbons refrigerants, and some hydrochlorofluorocarbons. Tetrachloroethene is also used as an insulating fluid and cooling gas in electrical transformers, in paint removers, printing inks, adhesive formulations, paper coatings, leather treatments, in aerosol formulations such as water repellants, automotive cleaners, silicone lubricants and spot removers, as an extractant for pharmaceuticals and as a precursor of trichloroacetic acid.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Tetrachloroethylene (PERC). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed December 2013)

National Toxicology Program. 2005. Report on Carcinogens, Twelfth Edition: Substance Profile of Trichloroethylene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, USA.(PDF, 273KB) (Viewed December 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Tétrachloroéthène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

127-18-4

Formule chimique 

C2Cl4

Masse moléculaire

165,8 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -20 0C / 121 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 1,62Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur15 mm HgMoyennement volatil
Densité de vapeur5,7Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau151 mg/LPeu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry1 x 10-2 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)2.3 - 2.8*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le tétrachloroéthène est un liquide plus dense que l'eau et moyennement volatil. Peu soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore en partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. Lorsqu'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le tétrachloroéthène sous forme liquide sera solubilisé ou s'écoulera (surtout) jusqu'à ce qu'il rencontre une surface imperméable. Le tétrachloroéthène liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé lentement avant de se volatiliser en partie. La phase adsorbée présente dans les zones vadose et saturée prend un certain temps avant de disparaître, libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse (surtout) et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse sont de taille plutôt limitée.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le tétrachloroéthène est toxique.

Sources principales

Le tétrachloroéthène est produit de façon industrielle en grande quantité selon deux procédés, la chloration directe d'hydrocarbures simples tels le méthane, l'éthane, le propane et le propène, ou par oxychloration de l'éthène pour obtenir un mélange de tétrachloroéthène et de trichloroéthène. Les deux utilisations les plus importantes du tétrachloroéthène sont, premièrement, comme solvant pour le nettoyage à sec et le traitement des textiles, ainsi que pour le nettoyage des pièces métalliques, et, deuxièmement, comme précurseur pour la synthèse de fluorocarbures.

Lorsqu'utilisé pour le nettoyage à sec, le tétrachloroéthène arrive à dissoudre graisses, huiles et cires sans endommager les fibres naturelles ou synthétiques. Dans les usines textiles, il permet d'enlever toute trace d'huile des tissus après les opérations de tissage et de tricotage. Comme le tétrachloroéthène arrive à dissoudre plusieurs composés organiques, quelques composés inorganiques ainsi que des cires et des goudrons, il est utilisé pour nettoyer des pièces métalliques et des équipements de toutes sortes. On l'utilise même pour enlever la suie dans les chaudières industrielles.

En tant que précurseur chimique, le tétrachloroéthène est surtout utilisé pour la production du 1,1,1,2-tétrafluoroéthane, une alternative populaire aux chlorofluorocarbures, et pour la production de certains hydrochlorofluorocarbures Il est aussi utilisé comme précurseur de l'acide trichloroacétique et comme solvant d'extraction pour la fabrication de médicaments. Il a également d'autres utilisations dans les transformateurs électriques, pour la fabrication de décapants à peinture, d'encres et d'adhésifs, de même que pour le traitement du cuir, par exemple. Le tétrachloroéthène est aussi utilisé dans divers produits en aérosols : substances hydrofuges, nettoyants pour l'auto, lubrifiants à base de silicone, produits pour enlever les taches, etc.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Tetrachloroethylene (PERC). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en décembre 2013)

National Toxicology Program. 2005. Report on Carcinogens, Twelfth Edition: Substance Profile of Trichloroethylene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, USA.(PDF, 273KB) (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :