Fact sheet: Chemical oxidation with permanganate—in situ

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

On this page

Description

Permanganate (MnO4-) oxidation is the most common and most used of all chemical oxidation techniques. Compared with other oxidants such as ozone or hydrogen peroxide, permanganate has a lower oxidation potential but it is more stable and more persistent in soils. As a result, it can migrate by diffusive and advective processes (FRTR, 2002), giving it a greater zone of influence. Oxidant delivery systems often employ vertical or horizontal injection wells using pressure to force the oxidant into the subsurface.

Potassium permanganate (KMnO4) and sodium permanganate (NaMnO4) are the most commonly used. Permanganate is available in liquid or crystalline form. Calcium or magnesium salts are also available. The injection solution is denser than water, which facilitates the vertical movement of the oxidant through the contaminated matrix, and improves contact between the oxidant and the contaminant. Permanganate oxidation is effective over a pH range of 3.5 to 12, but specific oxidation reactions are pH dependent. The oxidation reactions can lower the pH if the system is not adequately buffered. Degradation rates with permanganate also depend on temperature, organic matter content and reduced mineral species.

Permanganate is highly selective and is typically applied to degrade chlorinated ethenes but is not usually effective at oxidizing benzene, chlorinated benzenes, MTBE, carbon tetrachloride, or chlorinated ethanes. In some instances, permanganate has been used to degrade petroleum hydrocarbon compounds. The fact that it is available in a solid form makes it advantageous for transportation to remote sites. It has the major disadvantage of producing a purple colour which can be problematic if dilute permanganate solution can reach water bodies or sewers. Since it also produces a by-product of oxidized manganese, build up of manganese in soils can be an issue in some jurisdictions. Also, as any chemical oxidation process, it is not applicable in the presence of free phase.

Internet links:

Implementation of the technology

In situ chemical oxidation (ISCO) with permanganate consists of injecting a solution of permanganate in the soils and/or groundwater using direct injection equipment on direct push rigs, trenches, infiltration galleries, well recirculation, deep soil mixing rigs, hydraulic fracturing equipment and other equipment may also be used. The objective is to bring the oxidant in contact with contaminants, mineralizing the contaminant, in the case of a complete oxidation, into carbon dioxide and water. For halogenated compounds intermediate compounds may be formed. Multiple injection events (usually two or three) are often required. The primary issue in chemical oxidation is the distribution of treatment media in the subsurface.

Implementation of permanganate oxidation projects may include:

  • Bench scale or pilot tests.
    Laboratory scale tests are generally required to determine optimal parameters such as oxidant quantities and concentrations. On-site pilot tests are used to determine the type of injection wells, the radius of influence and spacing of the injection wells, the concentrations and injection flow rates of oxidant solutions.
  • Mobilization, site access and temporary facilities
  • Reagent delivery, which could entail such measures as:
    • Injection well installation
    • Infiltration trench/drain construction
    • Injection or infiltration of aqueous treatment solutions
    • Deep soil mixing with solid or slurry reagents
    • Recirculation of groundwater amended with permanganate
    • Monitoring
    • Decommissioning of installed equipment (including groundwater wells)

Permanganate oxidation treatment doesn’t require activator, stabilizer or additive for pH adjustment.

Materials and storage

Solid or liquid forms of permanganate must be stored safely in a suitable and capped container, at ambient temperature and away from heat or incompatible materials.

Permanganate dust, which can be a health hazard, must be controlled during handling.

In some instances, oxidant reactivity with subsurface contaminants, including unexploded munitions and explosives, may be sufficient to result in combustion.

Waste and Discharges

Complete mineralization of organic compounds leaves carbon dioxide, water, and inorganic ions (like chloride). In some instances, complete mineralization doesn’t occur.

Sodium or potassium permanganate leaves elevated sodium or potassium levels and precipitated manganese dioxide (because of oxidation state, dissolved manganese is typically not an issue, but this may be confirmed through monitoring).

System installation typically requires drilling or excavating in contaminated areas, resulting in the handling and disposal of contaminated soils, typically containerized and disposed of off-site.

There is potential for contaminated or oxidant rich groundwater to flow out of the treatment zone. Properly designed injections do not result in uncontrolled flow of oxidants or contaminated groundwater along preferential pathways.

Recommended analyses for detailed characterization

Chemical analysis

  • pH
  • Organic matter content
  • Concentration of oxidant-consuming substances includes:
    • natural organic matter not considering the contaminants
    • reduced minerals
    • carbonate
    • other free radical scavengers
  • Reaction parameters include:
    • kinetic
    • stoichiometry
    • thermodynamic parameters
  • Contaminant concentrations present in the following phases:
    • adsorbed
    • dissolved
    • free

Physical analysis

  • Soil granulometry
  • Presence of non-aqueous phase liquids (NAPLs)

Recommended trials for detailed characterization

Chemical trials

  • Evaluation of the matrix oxidant demand

Notes:

On-site treatment trials will establish the efficiency of the technology and the parameters that influence the treatment time and cost (e.g. residence time, pump flow rate, requirements for pre-treatment, etc.).

Physical trials

  • Vapour survey
  • Evaluation of the radius of influence
  • Evaluation of operating pressure/vacuum

Hydrogeological trials

  • Tracer tests

Notes:

Tests examining the effect of temperature change on hydraulic conductivity and establishing the zone of freezing with a pilot scale tubing system are recommended to properly design the full-scale containment system.

Other information recommended for detailed characterization

Phase II

  • Contaminant delineation (area and depth)
  • Presence of receptors:
    • presence of potential environmental receptors
    • presence of above and below ground infrastructure
    • the risk of off-site migration

Phase III

  • Soil stratigraphy
  • Identification of preferential pathways for contaminant migration
  • Volume of contaminated material to treat
  • Conceptual site model with hydrogeological and geochemical inputs
  • Characterization of the hydrogeological system including:
    • the direction and speed of the groundwater flow
    • the hydraulic conductivity
    • the seasonal fluctuations
    • the hydraulic gradient

Notes:

Pilot scale field tests are recommended for selecting the type and position of injection wells, establishing the radius of influence of the injection wells and to calculate optimal permanganate injection rates

Applications

  • Essentially for saturated zone treatment, vadose zone treatment is more complex and less efficient than the saturated zone, especially of the soil is very permeable as the oxidant requires sufficient contact time with the contaminant for the oxidation to occur;
  • Overall effective pH range of 3.5 to 12. For specific oxidation reactions narrower ranges of pH apply.
  • Specific for the degradation of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), chlorinated aliphatic such as perchloroethylene (PCE), trichloroethylene (TCE), dichloroethylene (DCE), and vinyl chloride (VC) and other organic contaminants
  • Soil permeability must be sufficient to allow oxidant migration.

Applications to sites in northern regions

In situ chemical oxidation (ISCO), for example, using campaign-based injection or the in situ mixing of solids is potentially applicable to remote northern sites, however, significant impediments to material transport and injection equipment mobilization must be overcome. Given the high cost of mobilizing reagents and equipment, ISCO may be pursued on a one-time basis with the objective of reducing concentrations to levels amendable to monitor natural attenuation or another alternative. Northern systems require climate-appropriate design, including consideration of permafrost and of seasonal changes in ground conditions.

Treatment type

Treatment type
Treatment typeApplies or Does not apply
In situ
Applies
Ex situ
Does not apply
Biological
Does not exist
Chemical
Applies
Control
Does not exist
Dissolved contamination
Applies
Free Phase
Does not exist
Physical
Does not exist
Residual contamination
Applies
Resorption
Applies
Thermal
Does not exist

State of technology

State of technology
State of technologyExist or Does not exist
Testing
Does not exist
Commercialization
Exist

Target contaminants

Target contaminantsApplies, Does not apply or With restrictions
Aliphatic chlorinated hydrocarbons
With restrictions
Chlorobenzenes
Does not apply
Explosives
With restrictions
Metals
Does not apply
Monocyclic aromatic hydrocarbons
With restrictions
Non metalic inorganic compounds
Does not apply
Pesticides
With restrictions
Petroleum hydrocarbons
Applies
Phenolic compounds
Applies
Policyclic aromatic hydrocarbons
Applies
Polychlorinated biphenyls
Does not apply

Treatment time

Treatment time
Treatment timeApplies or Does not apply
Less than 1 year
Applies
1 to 3 years
Applies
3 to 5 years
Does not apply
More than 5 years
Does not apply

Long-term considerations (following remediation work)

Long-term consideration associated with the implementation of permanganate oxidation includes:

  • Permanganate may persist in the aquifer up to several months after treatment. Depending on soil permeability and the presence of preferential pathways, permanganate could migrate over a significant distance, outside the site boundaries or arise in a surface water body nearby. Monitoring should detect potential migration of permanganate in water bodies as it can cause a purple colour in surface water.
  • Oxidants are consumed relatively quickly and do not persist long enough to penetrate low permeability materials. At many sites, contaminants continue to diffuse out of untreated low permeability structures, such as silt or clay lenses, for many years.
  • Soil sterilization post oxidation is not a major issue, as repeated investigations have demonstrated that microbial communities quickly recolonize the treatment areas.

Secondary by-products and/or metabolites

Chemical oxidation with permanganate produces carbon dioxide (CO2), water (H2O), and inorganic chloride during the oxidation of chlorinated organics. Degradation of contaminants by permanganate oxidation may produce toxic secondary by-products, depending on the nature of the contaminants. Volatile compounds may also be released.

By-product formation can be a concern if complete reaction cannot be obtained; bench top and/or pilot testing, as well as strict quality control for injected materials, is typically required. Oxidation products are usually (but not always) less toxic, more mobile and more biodegradable than parent compounds. For example, MTBE may degrade into acetone or tert butyl formate. Petroleum hydrocarbons may generate acetone or alcohols. Explosives (RDX and HMX) may create elevated levels of nitrate.

High levels of manganese oxides residue (MnO2) in soils can be an issue in some jurisdictions where manganese generic criteria for soils exist.

Limitations and Undesirable Effects of the Technology

  • Not suitable when there is free phase within the contaminated area.
  • Potential for purple groundwater seeping into surface waters or sewers
  • High levels of manganese oxides residue (MnO2) in soils can be an issue in some jurisdictions where manganese generic criteria for soils exist.
  • Soil permeability and matrix heterogeneity limit the application of the technology.
  • Potential for the oxidant to migrate through preferential pathways.
  • There is a risk of reduction in soil permeability during treatment due to CO2 entrapment, precipitation of KMnO4, etc.
  • Costs can quickly increase if large quantities of permanganate are required due to high concentrations of non-target oxidant consuming compounds (for example organic matter).
  • Special health and safety procedures are required for handling of a hazardous oxidant and controlling of hazardous permanganate dust.
  • The permanganate oxidation reactions may disrupt other remediation techniques, such as natural reductive dehalogenation.
  • Non-target organic carbon in the soil matrix may be mineralized which could reduce oxidant efficiency. This may also change the fate and transport of hydrophobic compounds; contaminants may be de-sorbed as total organic carbon is mineralized; in some cases this increases the effectiveness of the oxidant application by making more contaminants accessible for destruction.
  • Chemical oxidation deliberately causes extreme changes in geochemistry and creates a strongly oxidizing environment (to the extent that incompatible conduit, pipe or other underground materials can be damaged).
  • Metals can be mobilized within the treatment zone due to a change in oxidation states (such as chromium) and/or pH. Note that metals are generally attenuated by various mechanisms within a short distance of the injection site(s).
  • Injected fluids may displace (or “push”) contaminated pore water ahead of the injection front, leading to short-lived but dramatic changes in the distribution of groundwater contamination. Individual large-volume injections can “push” contaminated pore water at a substantial distance.
  • The formation of precipitates (such as manganese dioxide) associated with the injection of permanganate may clog the spaces between soil pores.
  • Spills of oxidants and/or improper mixing must be avoided. Energetic oxidation can ignite flammable materials; thermal decomposition can release oxygen and heat to intensify the blaze. Explosions can result, for example, if a gas-evolving reaction is contained or if incompatible materials (like hydrogen peroxide and potassium permanganate) are mixed.

Complementary technologies that improve treatment effectiveness

  • Free phase contaminants in soil should be removed prior to permanganate oxidation to optimize treatment efficiency.
  • The use of heat and/or co-solvents (tertiary butyl alcohol, acetone), and/or surfactant technologies to enhance NAPL dissolution or solubility have been demonstrated.
  • A number of proprietary formulations are available, several of which mix oxidants with oxygen-release compounds to stimulate post oxidation aerobic bioremediation. Soil sterilization post oxidation is not a major issue, as repeated investigations have demonstrated that microbial communities quickly recolonize the treatment areas.

Required secondary treatments

  • In situ chemical oxidation can be followed by a polishing biological to treat residual contamination.

Application examples

Application examples of chemical oxidation with permanganate are available in the following documents:

Performance

In situ permanganate oxidation is a well-proven technology that allows relatively quick treatment (from one to three years).

The long persistence of permanganate in the subsurface allows a better distribution of the oxidant, as compared to less persistent oxidants, especially in low-permeability soil.

According to the FRTR (2002), in situ chemical oxidation techniques can achieve high treatment efficiency (for example >90 percent) for unsaturated chlorinated aliphatic (such as trichloroethylene [TCE]) with very fast reaction rates (90 percent destruction in minutes).

Measures to improve sustainability of the technology

  • Schedule optimization for resource sharing and fewer days of mobilization.
  • Use of renewable energy and energy-efficient equipment (for example geothermal or solar energy for reagent delivery).
  • Evaluate source of oxidants (in other words, supply chain consideration in manufacturing.
  • Use of direct-push injection techniques.
  • Use of groundwater for on-site chemical solution preparation.
  • Evaluate delivery options by rail (for large volume of oxidants) rather than trucks.
  • Use of recyclable bulk solution containers.

Potential impacts of the application of the technology on human health

Unavailable for this fact sheet

References

Author and update

Composed by : Josée Thibodeau, M.Sc, National Research Council

Updated by : Karine Drouin, M.Sc., National Research Council

Updated Date : March 1, 2009

Latest update provided by : Marianne Brien, P.Eng., Christian Gosselin, P.Eng., M.Eng., Golder Associés Ltée

Updated Date : March 22, 2019

Version:
1.2.1

Fiche descriptive : Oxydation chimique – Traitement au permanganate – in situ

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Sur cette page

Description

L'oxydation chimique au permanganate (MnO4-)) est l'une des techniques d'oxydation chimique in situ les plus utilisées et les mieux connues. Comparé au peroxyde d'hydrogène et à l'ozone, le permanganate a un potentiel d'oxydation moins élevé; cependant, il est plus stable et plus persistant dans les sols. Cette dernière caractéristique permet au permanganate de migrer par advection et diffusion dans la matrice du sol (FRTR, 2002), ce qui augmente le rayon d’influence. L’injection de permanganate dans la matrice contaminé est généralement réalisée par injection sous pression ou recirculation dans des puits d'injection verticaux ou horizontaux.

Le permanganate de potassium (KMnO4) et le permanganate de sodium (NaMnO4) sont les plus communément utilisés. Le permanganate est disponible sous forme cristalline et liquide. Outre ces derniers, les sels de calcium et de magnésium sont aussi utilisés. Les solutions de permanganate (KMnO4 ou NaMnO4) sont plus dense que l'eau, ce qui facilite le transport vertical de l'oxydant à travers la matrice du sol et améliore le contact entre l'oxydant et les contaminants. L'oxydation au permanganate est efficace dans des conditions de pH variant de 3,5 à 12, mais la réaction spécifique d'oxydation varie en fonction du pH. La réaction d'oxydation peut aussi abaisser le pH si le milieu de réaction ne contient aucun agent tampon. Les taux de dégradation avec le permanganate dépendent également de la température et de la présence de matière organique ou d'espèces minérales réduites.

Le permanganate est très sélectif et généralement utilisé pour dégrader les éthènes chlorés, mais il n’est généralement pas efficace pour oxyder le benzène, les benzènes chlorés, le MTBE, le tétrachlorure de carbone ou les éthanes chlorés. Le permanganate a été utilisé dans certains cas pour dégrader des hydrocarbures pétroliers. Le fait qu'il soit disponible sous forme solide est avantageux pour le transport vers des sites éloignés. Il a pour inconvénient majeur de produire une couleur violette qui peut être problématique si la solution diluée de permanganate peut atteindre des plans d'eau ou des égouts. Puisqu'il produit également un sous-produit de dégradation du manganèse oxydé, l'accumulation de manganèse dans les sols peut aussi être un problème sous certaines juridictions. De plus, comme pour tout procédé d'oxydation chimique, il n'est pas applicable en présence de phase libre.

Liens Internet :

Mise en œuvre de la technologie

Le permanganate de potassium ou de sodium est généralement introduit dans des puits d’injection ou par poussée directe dans des tiges d’injection temporaires insérées par de l’équipement de forage. Des tranchées, des galeries d’infiltration, des techniques de traitement et de réinjection des eaux souterraines, des plates-formes de mélange de sols en profondeur, de l’équipement de fracturation hydraulique et d’autres équipements peuvent également être utilisés. L'objectif du traitement est de dégrader les polluants, dans le cas d'une oxydation complète, en dioxyde de carbone et en eau. Pour les contaminants halogénés, des produits intermédiaires de dégradation peuvent être produits. Plusieurs campagnes d’injection (généralement deux ou trois) sont souvent requises.

Le principal enjeu de l’oxydation chimique est lié à l'ajout des réactifs dans la nappe ou les sols.

La mise en œuvre des projets d’oxydation chimique avec le permanganate peut notamment inclure :

  • Des essais en laboratoire ou des essais pilotes.
    Des essais à l’échelle laboratoire sont généralement nécessaires afin de déterminer les paramètres optimaux, tels que les quantités et concentrations d'oxydant. Les essais pilotes sur le site permettent quant à eux de déterminer le type de puits d'injection, le rayon d'influence des puits, l'espacement des puits d'injections, ainsi que la concentration et les débits d'injection.
  • La mobilisation, l'accès au site et la mise en place d'installations temporaires
  • L'ajout d’oxydant et de réactifs pouvant nécessiter des mesures comme :
    • L'installation de puits/pointes d’injection
    • La construction de tranchées ou l'installation de drains d’infiltration
    • L'injection ou l'infiltration de solutions aqueuses de traitement
    • Le mélange des sols en profondeur avec des réactifs solides ou en suspension
    • La recirculation de l’eau souterraine additionnée de permanganate
    • Le suivi environnemental
    • Le démantèlement du système installé (y compris les puits d’injection et de suivi)


Le permanganate ne requiert pas d’activateur, de stabilisateur ou d’additif permettant l’ajustement du pH.

Matériau et entreposage

Les permanganates sous forme solide ou liquide doivent être entreposés de manière sécuritaire, soit dans des contenants fermés et compatibles, à température ambiante et à l’écart de la chaleur ou de matériaux incompatibles.

La poussière de permanganate, qui peut représenter un danger pour la santé, doit être contrôlée lors de sa manipulation.

Dans certains cas, la réaction entre les réactifs et les polluants, y compris des munitions non explosées et des explosifs, est suffisante pour provoquer une combustion.

Résidus et rejets

  • La minéralisation complète de composés organiques produit du dioxyde de carbone, de l’eau et des ions inorganiques (comme le chlorure). Dans certains cas, la minéralisation complète ne se produit pas.
  • Le sodium ou le permanganate de potassium produisent des niveaux élevés de sodium ou de potassium et des précipités de dioxyde de manganèse (en raison de l’état d’oxydation, le manganèse dissous n’est généralement pas un problème, mais cela peut être confirmé au moyen d’un suivi environnemental).
  • L’installation du système de traitement nécessite généralement des travaux de forage ou d’excavation dans les zones contaminées, entraînant la manipulation et l’élimination de sols contaminés, généralement placés dans des conteneurs et éliminés hors site.
  • Il est possible que des eaux souterraines contaminées ou les oxydants sortent de la zone de traitement. Les injections correctement conçues n’entraînent pas d’écoulement incontrôlé d’oxydants ou d’eaux souterraines contaminés le long des voies préférentielles.

Analyses recommandées dans le cadre d’une caractérisation détaillée

Analyses chimiques

  • pH
  • La teneur en matière organique
  • La concentration en composés ou matières réagissant avec l'oxydant incluent :
    • la matière organique naturelle non reliée aux contaminants
    • les métaux réduits
    • le carbonate
    • autres capteurs de radicaux libres
  • Les paramètres de la réaction incluent :
    • la cinétique
    • la stœchiométrie
    • la thermodynamique de la réaction
  • La concentration des contaminants présents dans les phases :
    • adsorbées
    • dissoutes
    • libres

Analyses physiques

  • L'analyse granulométrique
  • La présence des liquides en phase non aqueuse (légers ou denses)

Essais recommandés dans le cadre d’une caractérisation détaillée

Essais chimiques

  • Évaluation de la demande en oxydants chimiques

Essais physiques

  • Relevé des vapeurs
  • Évaluation du rayon d’influence
  • Évaluation des conditions d’opération (pression/extraction)

Essais hydrogéologique

  • Essais avec traceur

Autre information recommandée pour une caractérisation détaillée

Phase II

  • La profondeur et l'étendue de la contamination
  • La présence de récepteurs :
    • la présence de récepteurs potentiels
    • la présence d'infrastructures de surface et souterraines
    • le risque de migration hors site

Phase III

  • La stratigraphie du sol
  • La détermination des voies préférentielles de migration des contaminants
  • Le volume de sol à traiter
  • Une modélisation hydrogéologique
  • La connaissance détaillée de la géologie et de l'hydrogéologie incluant :
    • la direction d'écoulement des eaux souterraines
    • la conductivité hydraulique
    • les fluctuations saisonnières
    • le gradient hydraulique

Remarques :

Essai pilote sur le terrain afin de déterminer le type de puits d'injection, le rayon d'influence des puits d'injection ainsi que le taux d'injection du permanganate

Applications

  • Habituellement appliqué en zone saturée, le traitement de la zone vadose est toutefois possible, mais plus complexe et moins efficace que celui de la zone saturée surtout si les sols sont très perméables. Un temps de contact minimum entre le contaminant et l’oxydant est nécessaire pour permettre à l'oxydation de se produire;
  • Technique efficace dans des conditions de pH variant entre 3,5 et 12;
  • Applicable à l'oxydation des hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques (HAP), des composés aliphatiques chlorés comme le perchloréthylène (PCE), le trichloréthylène (TCE), le dichloréthylène (DCE) et le chlorure de vinyle (CV), ainsi qu'à d'autres types de contaminants organiques;
  • Les sols doivent être suffisamment perméables pour permettre le mouvement de l'oxydant.

Applications aux sites en milieu nordique

L’oxydation chimique in situ (OCIS) est potentiellement applicable en régions éloignées, cependant, des obstacles importants liés au transport du matériel et à la mobilisation de l’équipement d’injection doivent être surmontés. Compte tenu du coût élevé de mobilisation des agents réactifs et du matériel, l’OCIS devrait être exécutée en une seule phase de traitement (une mobilisation) avec pour but de réduire les concentrations à des niveaux permettant par la suite d’utiliser la technique de l’atténuation naturelle contrôlée ou une autre approche. Les applications nordiques ont généralement besoin de techniques adaptées au climat tenant compte notamment du pergélisol et des changements saisonniers de conditions du sol.

Type de traitement

Type de traitementS’applique ou Ne s’applique pas
In situ
S’applique
Ex situ
Ne s’applique pas
Biologique
Ne s’applique pas
Chimique
S’applique
Contamination dissoute
S’applique
Contamination résiduelle
S’applique
Contrôle
Ne s’applique pas
Phase libre
Ne s’applique pas
Physique
Ne s’applique pas
Résorption
S’applique
Thermique
Ne s’applique pas

État de la technologie

État de la technologieExiste ou N'existe pas
Démonstration
N'existe pas
Commercialisation
Existe

Contaminants ciblés

Contaminants ciblésS'applique, Ne s'applique pas ou Avec restrictions
Biphényles polychlorés
Ne s'applique pas
Chlorobenzène
Ne s'applique pas
Composés inorganiques non métalliques
Ne s'applique pas
Composés phénoliques
S'applique
Explosifs
Avec restrictions
Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés
Avec restrictions
Hydrocarbures aromatiques monocycliques
Avec restrictions
Hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques
S'applique
Hydrocarbures pétroliers
S'applique
Métaux
Ne s'applique pas
Pesticides
Avec restrictions

Durée du traitement

Durée du traitementS’applique ou Ne s’applique pas
Moins de 1 an
S’applique
1 à 3 ans
S’applique
3 à 5 ans
Ne s’applique pas
Plus de 5 ans
Ne s’applique pas

Considérations à long terme (à la suite des travaux d'assainissement)

Les considérations à long terme liées à l’implantation de l’oxydation chimique in situ avec du permanganate incluent :

  • Le permanganate peut persister dans l’aquifère jusqu’à plusieurs mois après l’injection. Selon la perméabilité des sols ou la présence de chemins préférentiels, le permanganate pourrait migrer sur une importante distance, à l’extérieur des limites d’un site ou faire résurgence dans un cours d’eau à proximité. Le suivi à long terme devrait permettre de détecter la migration potentielle du permanganate dans les récepteurs (tels que de cours d’eau et les égouts) puisqu’il peut produire une couleur violette.
  • La redistribution du contaminant. Les oxydants sont consommés relativement rapidement et ne persistent normalement pas assez longtemps pour pénétrer dans les couches de matériaux imperméables. Sur plusieurs sites, les contaminants continuent de se diffuser à l’extérieur des structures imperméables, telles que des silts ou des lentilles d’argiles pendant plusieurs années.
  • La stérilisation du sol n'est pas un problème majeur. De nombreuses études ont démontré que les communautés microbiennes recolonisent rapidement les zones d'oxydation.

Produits secondaires ou métabolites

L'oxydation chimique au permanganate de composés organiques produit du dioxyde de carbone (CO2), de l’eau et des chlorures inorganiques lors d’oxydation de composés chlorés. L'obtention de sous-produits toxiques est possible dans les cas d'oxydation partielle. Des composés volatils peuvent également être libérés.

La formation de sous-produits peut être une source de préoccupation en cas d’oxydation incomplète. Des essais au laboratoire et/ou des essais pilotes, ainsi qu’un contrôle strict de la qualité des réactifs injectés sont généralement requis. Les produits d’oxydation sont généralement (mais pas toujours) moins toxiques, plus mobiles et plus biodégradables que leurs précurseurs. Par exemple, le MTBE peut se dégrader en acétone de tert-butyle formate. Les hydrocarbures pétroliers peuvent générer de l’acétone ou des alcools. Les explosifs (RDX et HMX) peuvent produire des niveaux élevés de nitrates.

Des niveaux élevés d'oxydes de manganèse résiduel (MnO2) dans les sols peuvent être un problème à certains endroits où il y a des critères génériques de manganèse pour les sols.

Limitations et effets indésirables de la technologie

  • Cette technologie est non appropriée en présence de phase libre.
  • Il existe un potentiel d'infiltration d'eau souterraine violette dans les eaux de surface ou les égouts.
  • Des niveaux élevés d'oxydes de manganèse résiduel (MnO2) dans les sols peuvent être un problème à certains endroits où il y a des critères génériques de manganèse pour les sols.
  • La perméabilité et l'hétérogénéité du sol influencent la migration de l'oxydant et donc l'efficacité de la technologie.
  • Il existe un risque de voir migrer l'oxydant par des voies préférentielles uniquement.
  • Il est possible que la perméabilité diminue en cours de traitement (causée par le piégeage du CO2, la précipitation du KMnO4, l'accumulation de MnO2 (s), etc.)
  • Des niveaux élevés de consommateurs d’oxydant (p.ex. la matière organique) feront augmenter la quantité de permanganate requis, donc les coûts.
  • Cette technologie requiert des mesures particulières en santé et sécurité pour la manipulation d’oxydant liquide ou sous forme de poussières qui peuvent représenter un danger.
  • Les réactions chimiques causées par le permanganate peuvent entraver d'autres techniques de réhabilitation telle que la déshalogénation réductive naturelle.
  • Le carbone organique non ciblé peut être minéralisé par oxydation, changeant ainsi le devenir et le transport des composés hydrophobes adsorbés à la matière organique (des contaminants peuvent être désorbés lors du processus de minéralisation du carbone organique total et, dans certains cas, cela augmente l’efficacité du traitement en augmentant la quantité de contaminants disponible).
  • L’oxydation chimique provoque volontairement des changements extrêmes dans la géochimie et crée un milieu fortement oxydant (au point où des conduites, des tuyaux ou d’autres matériaux souterrains incompatibles peuvent être endommagés).
  • Les métaux dans la zone de traitement peuvent être mobilisés en raison d’un changement dans les états d’oxydation (par exemple, le chrome) ou de pH. À noter que la migration des métaux est généralement atténuée par divers mécanismes à une courte distance du site d’injection.
  • L’injection de réactifs peut provoquer le colmatage d’une partie des pores des sols. Dans le cas d'oxydation avec permanganate de potassium (KMnO4), le dioxyde de manganèse est formé suivant la réaction d’oxydation et peut précipiter et colmater les pores du sol.
  • Les déversements et/ou les mélanges de produits chimiques incompatibles doivent être évités. L’oxydation peut mettre le feu à des matériaux inflammables et la décomposition thermique qui en résulte peut libérer de l’oxygène et une chaleur qui alimenterait l’incendie. Des explosions peuvent survenir si une réaction produisant des gaz est contenue ou si des matériaux incompatibles sont mélangés.
  • Les fluides injectés peuvent déplacer (ou « pousser ») l’eau interstitielle contaminée en aval du point d’injection, entraînant ainsi à court terme des changements très importants dans la distribution des eaux souterraines contaminées.

Technologies complémentaires améliorant l’efficacité du traitement

  • Les contaminants en phase libre doivent être enlevés de la matrice contaminée (par exemple, par bioaspiration) avant l'application de la technique d'oxydation chimique au permanganate
  • L’utilisation de chaleur, de surfactants et/ou de cosolvants (alcool butyle tertiaire, acétone) pour améliorer la dissolution ou la solubilité du contaminant a été démontrée.
  • Un certain nombre de formules exclusives sont disponibles, et plusieurs d’entre elles mélangent des oxydants avec composés libérant de l’oxygène pour stimuler la biorestauration aérobie post-oxydation.

Traitements secondaires requis

  • L'oxydation chimique in situ peut être suivie par un polissage biologique pour le traitement des concentrations résiduelles.

Exemples d'application

On peut trouver des exemples d'application aux liens suivants :

Performance

L’oxydation chimique in situ avec le permanganate est une technologie largement éprouvée qui permet un traitement relativement rapide (d’une à trois années).

La persistance à long terme du permanganate, en comparaison des autres oxydants communément utilisés, permet une meilleure distribution du permanganate, et ce, particulièrement pour des sols de faibles perméabilités.

Selon le FRTR (2002), le traitement in situ au permanganate peut atteindre des taux élevés d'efficacité lors du traitement de certains composés aliphatiques chlorés (trichloréthylène [TCE]) avec un temps de traitement rapide (ex. : 90 % de dégradation en quelques minutes).

Moyen d'améliorer la durabilité de la technologie

  • Optimisation du calendrier afin de favoriser le partage des ressources et réduire le nombre de jours de mobilisation.
  • Utilisation d'énergie renouvelable et d’équipement à faible consommation d’énergie (par exemple, énergie géothermique ou solaire pour la distribution des agents réactifs).
  • Évaluation de la provenance de l'oxydant (par exemple, chaînes d'approvisionnement dans le cadre du processus de fabrication).
  • Utilisation de techniques d'injection gravitaire.
  • Utilisation de l'eau souterraine pour la préparation des solutions chimiques sur le site.
  • Examen des possibilités de livraison par chemin de fer (pour les grands volumes d'oxydants) plutôt que par camions.
  • Utilisation de contenants de solution en vrac recyclables.

Impacts potentiels de l'application de la technologie sur la santé humaine

Non disponible pour cette fiche

Références

Auteur et mise à jour

Fiche rédigée par : Josée Thibodeau, M.Sc, Conseil national de recherches

Mise à jour par : Karine Drouin, M.Sc., Conseil national de recherches

Date de mise à jour : 1 mars 2009

Dernière mise à jour par : Marianne Brien, P.Eng., Christian Gosselin, P.Eng., M.Eng., Golder Associés Ltée

Date de mise à jour : 22 mars 2019

Date de modification :