Fact sheet: Carbon tetrachloride

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page

General information

CAS number

56-23-5

Molecular formula

CCl4

Formula weight

153.8 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -23 °C / 78 °CLiquid
Relative density1.58 g/cm3Sinks in water
Vapour pressure100 mm HgVery volatile
Vapour density5.3Denser than air
Solubility in water800 mg/LLow solubility
Henry's law constant6 x 10-2 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)1.8 - 2.6*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, carbon tetrachloride is a liquid denser than water and very volatile. Characterized by low solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and moderately adsorbs to organic matter. During a spill, this compound will mostly evaporate but may also enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), carbon tetrachloride will dissolve or sink until it reaches an impermeable surface. The liquid carbon tetrachloride that accumulates in a saturated zone will gradually dissolve before the major portion volatilizes. The adsorbed carbon tetrachloride in the vadose and saturated zones will take some time to disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous (primarily) or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively moderate in size.

Health and safety

Carbon tetrachloride should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

Carbon tetrachloride is a manufactured chemical and does not occur naturally in the environment. Carbon tetrachloride is produced by exhaustive chlorination of a variety of low molecular weight hydrocarbons such as carbon disulfide, methane, ethane, propane and ethylene dichloride. It is also produced by thermal chlorination of methyl chloride. The Canadian production of carbon tetrachloride ceased in 1995.

The major use of carbon tetrachloride has historically been in the production of chlorofluorocarbons for refrigeration fluid and propellants for aerosol cans. Because carbon tetrachloride is a solvent, it has also been widely used as a cleaning fluid (degreasing agent in industrial and dry cleaning facilities). Carbon tetrachloride is nonflammable so was also used in fire extinguishers. Until recently, it was used as a solvent in some household products (spot remover for clothing, furniture and carpeting) and as a fumigant to kill insects in grain. Because of the toxicity of carbon tetrachloride, consumer and fumigant uses have been discontinued, and only industrial uses remain. The adoption of an international agreement (the Montreal Protocol) to reduce environmental concentrations of ozone-depleting chemicals, which called for the complete phase-out of carbon tetrachloride production by 2000, has limited the availability of carbon tetrachloride to those uses for which no effective substitute has been found.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2005. Toxicological Profile for Carbon Tetrachloride. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed March 2010).

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. 1999. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life: Halogenated Methanes (tetrachloromethane). In: Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed March 2010).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Version:
1.2.1

Fiche descriptive : Tétrachlorure de carbone

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

56-23-5

Formule chimique 

CCl4

Masse moléculaire

153,8 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -23 0C / 78 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 1,58Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur100 mm HgTrès volatil
Densité de vapeur5,3Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau800 mg/LPeu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry6 x 10-2 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)1.8 - 2.6*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le tétrachlorure de carbone est un liquide plus dense que l'eau et très volatil. Peu soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore en grande partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. S'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le tétrachlorure de carbone sous forme liquide sera solubilisé ou s'écoulera (surtout) jusqu'à ce qu'il rencontre une surface imperméable. Le tétrachlorure de carbone liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé graduellement avant de se volatiliser en bonne partie. La phase adsorbée présente dans les zones vadose et saturée met un certain temps avant de disparaître, libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse (surtout) et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse sont de taille plutôt moyenne.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le tétrachlorure de carbone est toxique.

Sources principales

Le tétrachlorure de carbone n'existe pas dans la nature, il est obtenu de façon industrielle par une chloration poussée de divers hydrocarbures de faible poids moléculaire tels le disulfure de carbone, le méthane, l'éthane, le propane, le chlorométhane ou encore le 1,2-dichloroéthane. Le Canada ne produit plus de tétrachlorure de carbone depuis 1995.

Pendant longtemps, l'utilisation principale du tétrachlorure de carbone a été la production de divers chlorofluorcarbures pour en faire des fluides frigorigènes et des propulseurs d'aérosols. Comme c'est un solvant, le tétrachlorure de carbone a aussi été largement utilisé comme agent de nettoyage, autant dans les usines, pour le dégraissage et le nettoyage à sec, que dans divers produits domestiques servant à enlever les taches sur les vêtements, l'ameublement et les tapis. Comme il est ininflammable, il était aussi utilisé dans les extincteurs. Jusqu'à récemment, il servait encore comme agent de fumigation pour tuer les insectes s'attaquant aux grains entreposés. Comme il est toxique, le tétrachlorure de carbone n'est plus utilisé maintenant comme agent de fumigation ou dans les produits ménagers, seules quelques utilisations industrielles subsistent. De plus, le Protocole de Montréal sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone demandait qu'en l'an 2000 le tétrachlorure de carbone soit complètement remplacé par des produits plus acceptables. Il n'est donc plus utilisé maintenant que pour des besoins particuliers où aucun produit de remplacement efficace n'est disponible.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2005. Toxicological Profile for Carbon Tetrachloride. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en mars 2010)

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Méthanes halogénés (tétrachlorométhane). Dans: Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement. Manitoba, Canada. (consulté en mars 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :