Fact sheet: Pentachlorophenol

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

87-86-5

Molecular formula

C6HCl5O

Formula weight

266.3 g/mol

Family

Phenolic compounds

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point191 0CSolid
Relative density1.98Sinks in water
Vapour pressure5 x 10 -5 mm HgVery low volatility
Vapour density0N/A
Solubility in water3,000 mg/LModerately soluble
Henry's law constant5 x 10-7atm·m3/molSlow volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)2.5 - 4.0*Strong adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, pentachlorophenol is a solid with very low volatility and moderate solubility. Once it is dissolved, it volatilizes slowly and adsorbs strongly to organic matter. When present in the soil, it volatilizes very slowly. Once dissolved, pentachlorophenol can reach the water table or migrate into a waterway, where it will be diluted before volatilizing slowly. Fragments of pentachlorophenol can also be carried into a watercourse where they will deposit at the bottom of dissolve. Once the source is gone, the adsorbed phase will take a while to disappear, being released in its gaseous or dissolved (primarily) forms. The resulting dissolved plume will be moderate in size while the gaseous plume will be insignificant.

Health and safety

Pentachlorophenol should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

Since 1986, pentachlorophenol used in Canada has been obtained from U.S. and European manufacturers. Commercial pentachlorophenol, which is more frequently used as a wood preservative, contains approximately 4% tetrachlorophenols and 0.1% trichlorophenols. The domestic use of pentachlorophenol, in 1990, was restricted to exterior wood preservatives containing 3.3% to 5% pentachlorophenol in petroleum distillates and applied as clear finishes, water repellents, or stains. In Canada, all indoor and spray applications of chlorophenol were discontinued in 1981.

The amount of pentachlorophenol used for agricultural purposes was low when compared to the wood treatment industry. Pentachlorophenol was used primarily to prevent wood decay in farm buildings, fences, and storage facilities. Pentachlorophenol and its sodium salt have also been used as herbicides and desiccants for forage seed crops, herbicides for nonfood vegetation control, biocides for post-harvest washing of fruit and as insecticides for use in beehives, seed plots and greenhouses.

The biocidal properties of pentachlorophenol have made it useful as an anti-algal and anti-fungal agent in industrial boilers, cooling systems, latex paints and paper making.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1999. Toxicological profile for Chlorophenols. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, U.S.A. (Viewed December 2013)

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. 1999. Canadian water quality guidelines for the protection of aquatic life: Pentachlorophenols. In: Canadian environmental quality guidelines, 1999. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed December 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Pentachlorophènol

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

87-86-5

Formule chimique 

C6HCl5O

Masse moléculaire

266,3 g/mol

Famille

Composés phénoliques

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition191 0CSous forme solide
Densité 1,98Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur5 x 10 -5 mm HgTrès peu volatil
Densité de vapeur0N/A
Solubilité dans l’eau3,000 mg/LMoyennement soluble
Constante, loi de Henry5 x 10-7atm·m3/molVolatilisation lente lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)2.5 - 4.0*Adsorption forte sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le pentachlorophénol est un solide très peu volatil. Moyennement soluble, il se volatilise lentement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe fortement sur la matière organique. Lorsque présent dans le sol, ce produit se solubilise lentement. La forme soluble peut atteindre la nappe phréatique ou s'écouler vers un cours d'eau où elle se dilue, avant de se volatiliser lentement. Des fragments de pentachlorophénol peuvent aussi être entraînés et se déposer au fond d'un cours d'eau, puis s'y solubiliser. Une fois la source disparue, la phase adsorbée prend assez longtemps avant de disparaître, en libérant les formes gazeuse et soluble (principalement) du contaminant. Le panache de la phase dissoute est de taille plutôt moyenne, alors que celui de la phase gazeuse est pratiquement inexistant.

Santé et sécurité

Le pentachlorophénol doit être manipulé avec précaution, car il est toxique.

Sources principales

Depuis 1986, le pentachlorophénol utilisé au Canada provient de manufactures des États-Unis et d' Europe. Le pentachlorophénol commercial, qui est utilisé le plus souvent comme agent de préservation pour le bois, contient approximativement 4 % de tétrachlorophénols et 0.1 % de trichlorophénols. En 1990, l'usage domestique du pentachlorophénol était limité aux agents de préservation du bois qui contenaient 3.3 à 5 % de pentachlorophénol dans un distillat de pétrole, et étaient appliqués comme vernis transparents, imperméabilisants ou teintures pour l'extérieur. Au Canada, toutes les applications à l'intérieur et en pulvérisateurs des chlorophénols ont été interdites en 1981.

Les quantités de pentachlorophénol utilisées en agriculture étaient faibles comparées à celles de l'industrie du traitement du bois. Le pentachlorophénol était utilisé surtout pour prévenir la pourriture du bois sur les bâtiments de ferme, clôtures et installations d'entreposage. Le pentachlorophénol et son sel de sodium ont aussi été utilisés comme herbicides et déshydratants dans la culture de semences fourragères, comme herbicides pour le contrôle des mauvaises herbes, comme biocides pour le lavage des fruits après récolte, et comme insecticides pour usage dans les ruches et les serres.

Les propriétés biocides du pentachlorophénol l'ont rendu utile comme agent de contrôle des algues et des moisissures dans les chaudières industrielles, les systèmes de refroidissement, la peinture au latex et les procédés de fabrication du papier.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1999. Toxicological profile for Chlorophenols. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, U.S.A. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des sols : Pentachlorophénol, Recommendations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, 1999. Conseil canadien des Ministres de l'Environnement, Winnipeg, Canada. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date de modification :