Fact sheet: Pentachlorobenzene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

608-93-5

Molecular formula

C6HCl5

Formula weight

250.3 g/mol

Family

Chlorobenzenes

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point85 0CSolid
Relative density1.83Sinks in water
Vapour pressure0.006 mm HgVery low volatility
Vapour density0N/A
Solubility in water0.5 mg/LVery low solubility
Henry's law constant6 x 10-4atm·m3/molModerately volatile when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)4.1 - 6.3*Very strong adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, pentachlorobenzene is a solid with very low volatility and solubility. Once it is dissolved, it is moderately volatile and adsorbs very strongly to organic matter. When present in the soil, it volatilizes and dissolves very slowly. In the dissolved phase, pentachlorobenzene can reach the water table or drain into a waterway where it will be diluted before partially volatilizing. Fragments of pentachlorobenzene can also be carried into waterways where they will be deposited at the bottom and dissolve very slowly. Once the source has been removed, the adsorbed phase will take a very long time to disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous and dissolved) are generally small in size.

Health and safety

In Canada, pentachlorobenzene is considered "toxic", as defined under Paragraph 64(a) of CEPA 1999, and has been added to Schedule 1.

Principal resources

Pentachlorobenzene is not currently produced or used in its pure form in Canada. The principal current commercial use of pentachlorobenzene is as a chemical intermediate in the formation of pentachloronitrobenzene (also known as quintozene), a fungicide which is currently used, but not produced, in Canada. Pentachlorobenzene is present as an impurity in this and other herbicides, pesticides and fungicides currently in use in Canada. Pentachlorobenzene is also present as an impurity in pentachlorophenol, one of the five main wood treatment chemicals that are used in Canada.

Pentachlorobenzene may be present as an undesirable by-product in the manufacture of hexachlorobenzene, pentachloronitrobenzene, tetrachlorobenzenes, tetrachloroethylene, trichloroethylene, and 1,2-dichloroethane.

Pentachlorobenzene was a component of a mixture of chlorobenzenes added to products containing polychlorinated biphenyls (transformer dielectric fluids) in order to reduce viscosity. In Canada, approximately 200,000 kg of pentachlorobenzene are present in transformer dielectric fluids either in use or stored before disposal. Pentachlorobenzene has also been used as a fire retardant.

References

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. 1999. Canadian water quality guidelines for the protection of aquatic life: Chlorinated benzenes-Pentachlorobenzene. In: Canadian environmental quality guidelines, 1999. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Winnipeg. Canada. (Viewed December 2013)

Environment Canada. 2009. CEPA Environmental Registry: Toxic Substances List-Updated Schedule 1 as of December 27, 2006. (Viewed December 2013)

Environment Canada. 2009. Management of Toxic Substances: Pentachlorobenzenes (QCB). (Viewed December 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Pentachlorobenzène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

608-93-5

Formule chimique 

C6HCl5

Masse moléculaire

250,3 g/mol

Famille

Chlorobenzènes

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion / ébullition85 0CSous forme solide
Densité 1,83Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur0.006 mm HgTrès peu volatil
Densité de vapeur0N/A
Solubilité dans l’eau0.5 mg/LTrès peu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry6 x 10-4atm·m3/molVolatilisation modérée lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)4.1 - 6.3*Adsorption forte sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le pentachlorobenzène est un solide très peu volatil. Très peu soluble, il se volatilise modérément lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe très fortement sur la matière organique. Lorsque présent dans le sol, ce produit se volatilise très légèrement. La forme soluble peut atteindre la nappe phréatique ou s'écouler vers un cours d'eau où elle se dilue, avant de se volatiliser partiellement. Des fragments de pentachlorobenzène peuvent aussi être entraînés et se déposer au fond d'un cours d'eau, pour s'y solubiliser très lentement. Une fois la source disparue, la phase adsorbée prend très longtemps avant de disparaître à son tour, libérant les formes gazeuse et soluble du contaminant. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse sont de taille réduite.

Santé et sécurité

Au Canada, le pentachlorobenzène est considéré comme « toxique » selon le Paragraphe 64(a) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE) de 1999, et a été ajouté à l'Annexe 1.

Sources principales

Le pentachlorobenzène n'est actuellement ni produit, ni utilisé sous sa forme pure au Canada. Le principal usage commercial du pentachlorobenzène est celui d'intermédiaire chimique dans la production du pentachloronitrobenzène (ou quintozène), un fongicide actuellement utilisé, mais non produit au Canada. Le pentachlorobenzène est donc présent en tant qu'impureté dans le quintozène, ainsi que dans d'autres fongicides, herbicides et pesticides actuellement en usage au Canada. Le pentachlorobenzène est aussi présent en tant qu'impureté dans le pentachlorophénol, un des cinq principaux produits chimiques utilisés pour le traitement du bois, en usage au Canada.

Le pentachlorobenzène peut être présent en tant que sous-produit indésirable dans la production de l'hexachlorobenzène, du tétrachlorobenzène, du tétrachloroéthylène, du trichloréthylène et du 1,2-dichloroéthane.

Le pentachlorobenzène était un des composants du mélange de chlorobenzènes qui était ajouté aux produits contenant des biphényles polychlorés (essentiellement les fluides diélectriques des transformateurs) pour en réduire la viscosité. Au Canada, environ 200,000 kg de pentachlorobenzène sont présents dans les fluides diélectriques de transformateurs encore en usage, ou entreposés en attendant d'être détruits. Le pentachlorobenzène a déjà aussi été utilisé comme agent ignifuge.

Références

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Benzènes chlorés - 1,4-Dichlorobenzène. Dans: Recommendations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, 1999. Conseil canadien des Ministres de l'Environnement, Winnipeg, Canada. (Consulté en décembre 2013)

Environnement Canada. 2009. Registre environnemental de la LCPE : Liste des substances toxiques - Dernière mise à jour de l'annexe 1, le 27 décembre 2006. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Environnement Canada. 2009. Gestion des substances toxiques: Pentachlorobenzènes (QCB). (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Version :
1.0