Fact sheet: 2,4,5-trichlorophenol

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

95-95-4

Molecular formula

C6H3Cl3O

Formula weight

197.5 g/mol

Family

Phenolic compounds

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point68 0CSolid
Relative density1.68Sinks in water
Vapour pressure0.02 mm HgLow volatility
Vapour density0N/A
Solubility in water1,200 mg/LModerately soluble
Henry's law constant2 x 10-7atm·m3/molSlow volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)2.5 - 3.4*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, 2,4,5-trichlorophenol is a solid with very low volatility and moderate solubility. Once it is dissolved, it volatilizes slowly and adsorbs moderately to organic matter. When present in the soil, it dissolves at a moderate rate. In the dissolved phase, 2,4,5-trichlorophenol can reach the groundwater table or flow into a waterway, where it will be diluted before slowly volatilizing. Fragments of 2,4,5-trichlorophenol can also be carried into waterways where they will be deposited at the bottom and dissolve. Once the source has been removed, the adsorbed phase will take a while to disappear, slowly liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state. The resulting dissolved plume will be relatively moderate in size while the gaseous plume will be generally small in size.

Health and safety

2,4,5-trichlorophenol should be handled with care, as it is toxic.

Principal resources

In the United States, 2,4,5-trichlorophenol was taken off the market in 1985. The principle use for 2,4,5-trichlorophenol was as an intermediate, especially in the production of the herbicides 2,4-dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4-D) and 2,4,5-trichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4,5-T). 2,4,5-trichlorophenol was also used as a fungicide, bactericide and organic synthesis.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2006. Toxicological profile for Chlorophenols. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service. Georgia, U.S.A. (Viewed December 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : 2,4,5-trichlorophénol

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

95-95-4

Formule chimique 

C6H3Cl3O

Masse moléculaire

197,5 g/mol

Famille

Composés phénoliques

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition68 0CSous forme solide
Densité 1,68Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur0.02 mm HgPeu volatil
Densité de vapeur0N/A
Solubilité dans l’eau1,200 mg/LMoyennement soluble
Constante, loi de Henry2 x 10-7atm·m3/molVolatilisation lente lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)2.5 - 3.4*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le 2,4,5-trichlorophénol est un solide très peu volatil. Moyennement soluble, il se volatilise lentement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément à fortement sur la matière organique. Lorsque présent dans le sol, ce produit se solubilise progressivement. La forme soluble peut atteindre la nappe phréatique ou s'écouler vers un cours d'eau où il se dilue, avant de se volatiliser lentement. Des fragments de 2,4,5-trichlorophénol peuvent aussi être entraînés et se déposer au fond d'un cours d'eau, puis s'y solubiliser. Une fois la source disparue, la phase adsorbée prend assez longtemps avant de disparaître à son tour en libérant les formes gazeuse et soluble (principalement) du contaminant. Le panache de la phase dissoute est peut-être de taille plutôt moyenne, alors que celui de la phase gazeuse est généralement limité.

Santé et sécurité

Le 2,4,5-trichlorophénol doit être manipulé avec précaution, car il est toxique.

Sources principales

Aux États-Unis, le 2,4,5-trichlorophénol a été retiré du marché en 1985. Son usage le plus fréquent était celui d'intermédiaire chimique, et spécialement dans la production d'herbicides comme l'acide 2,4-dichlorophénoxyacétique (2,4-D) et l'acide 2,4,5-trichlorophénoxyacétique (2,4,5-T). Le 2,4,5-trichlorophénol était aussi utilisé comme fongicide, bactéricide et dans la synthèse de composés organiques.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2006. Toxicological profile for Chlorophenols. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service. Georgia, U.S.A. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date de modification :