Fact sheet: 1,1-dichloroethene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

75-35-4

Molecular formula

C2H2Cl2

Formula weight

96.9 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -122 0C / 32 0CLiquid
Relative density1.2Sinks in water
Vapour pressure550 mm HgVery volatile
Vapour density3.4Denser than air
Solubility in water1,500 mg/LModerately soluble
Henry's law constant2 x 10-2 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)1.7 - 2.4*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, 1,1-dichloroethene is a liquid denser than water and very volatile. Characterized by moderate solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and adsorbs moderately to organic matter. During a spill, this compound will primarily evaporate but may also enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), the 1,1-dichloroethene will dissolve or sink until it reaches an impermeable surface. The liquid 1,1-dichloroethene that accumulates in a saturated zone will gradually dissolve before volatilization occurs. The adsorbed 1,1-dichloroethene in the vadose and saturated zones will rapidly disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively large in size.

Health and safety

1,1-Dichloroethene should be handled with care as it is flammable, toxic and reactive.

Principal resources

1,1-Dichloroethene, also known as vinylidene chloride, is a man-made chemical produced commercially by the dehydrochlorination of 1,1,2-trichloroethane with excess lime or caustic. Although 1,1-dichloroethene is manufactured in large quantities, most of it is used as an intermediate in organic chemical synthesis (vinylidene fluoride and 1,1,1-trichloroethane) and in the production of polyvinylidene chloride copolymers. These polymers, which have been commercially important since their introduction in the early 1940s, are used extensively in many types of flexible packing materials, as flame retardant coatings for fiber and carpet backing, as well as in piping, coating for steel pipes, and adhesive applications. The major application of polyvinylidene chloride copolymers is the production of flexible films for food packaging.

Although 1,1-dichloroethene does not occur naturally, the breakdown of polyvinylidene chloride products is also a source of 1,1-dichloroethene in the environment.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), 1994. Toxicological Profile for 1,1-dichloroethene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed March 2010).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : 1,1-dichloroéthène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

75-35-4

Formule chimique 

C2H2Cl2

Masse moléculaire

96,9 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -122 0C / 32 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 1,2Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur550 mm HgTrès volatil
Densité de vapeur3,4Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau1,500 mg/LMoyennement soluble
Constante, loi de Henry2 x 10-2 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)1.7 - 2.4*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le 1,1-dichloroéthène est un liquide plus dense que l'eau et très volatil. Moyennement soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore en grande partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. S'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le 1,1-dichloroéthène sous forme liquide sera solubilisé ou s'écoulera jusqu'à ce qu'il rencontre une surface imperméable. Le 1,1-dichloroéthène liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé graduellement avant de se volatiliser en grande partie. La phase adsorbée présente dans les zones vadose et saturée disparaît rapidement en libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse ont tendance à être assez importants.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le 1,1-dichloroéthène est inflammable, toxique et réactif.

Sources principales

Le 1,1-dichloroéthène, aussi appelé chlorure de vinylidène, est produit industriellement par la déshydrochloration du 1,1,2-trichloroéthane, en présence d'un excès de chaux ou de soude caustique. Bien que le 1,1-dichloroéthène soit produit en grande quantité, il est surtout utilisé pour la synthèse d'autres composés organiques (fluorure de vinylidène et 1,1,1-trichloroéthane) et pour la fabrication de copolymères à base de polychlorure de vinylidène. Ces copolymères, qui ont une grande importance commerciale depuis leur introduction au début des années 1940, sont utilisés abondamment dans plusieurs types de matériaux d'emballage flexibles, aussi comme enduits ignifuges pour les tapis et textiles, comme enduits pour les tuyaux d'acier et enfin comme adhésifs. L'utilisation la plus importante des copolymères à base de polychlorure de vinylidène est la production de pellicules flexibles pour l'emballage des aliments. Outre les sources directes, la présence de 1,1-dichloroéthène dans l'environnement peut aussi provenir de la dégradation de produits contenant du polychlorure de vinylidène.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), 1994. Toxicological Profile for 1,1-dichloroethene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en mars 2010).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :