Fact sheet: 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

120-82-1

Molecular formula

C6H3Cl4

Formula weight

181.5 g/mol

Family

Chlorobenzenes

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point 17 0C / 213 0CLiquid or solid
Relative density1.45Sinks in water
Vapour pressure0.3 mm HgLow volatility
Vapour density6.3Much denser than air
Solubility in water40 mg/LLow solubility
Henry's law constant2 x 10-3atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)2.8 - 3.9*Strong adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene can be found as either a liquid or solid. Denser than water, 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene has low volatility and solubility. Once dissolved, it rapidly volatilizes and adsorbs strongly to organic matter. As a solid, 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene in soil will slowly dissolve. In its liquid form, 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene will enter into the soil or drain towards a waterway before it volatilizes. Liquid 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene that accumulates in the saturated zone will dissolve slowly before a significant portion volatilizes. Once the source has been removed, the adsorbed phase will take a long time to disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous and dissolved) are generally small in size.

Health and safety

1,2,4-trichlorobenzene should be handled with care, as it is toxic.

Principal resources

1,2,4-trichlorobenzene is the most common trichlorobenzene isomer. Although there are currently no producers of trichlorobenzenes in Canada, an estimated 40 to 50 tonnes per year were imported during the mid-1990s. Of this amount, about 30 tonnes were used as solvents in textile manufacturing, and about 15 tonnes were used as intermediates in the production of other chemicals.

In the past, trichlorobenzenes were used in combination with polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) in dielectric fluids for transformers and capacitors until 1980 when regulations prohibited new uses of PCB-containing dielectric fluids. Approximately 2,600,000 tonnes of trichlorobenzenes are present in transformer dielectric fluids either in use or stored before disposal. In the United States, trichlorobenzenes are also used as degreasing agents and lubricants.

1,2,4-trichlorobenzene is used industrially as dye carrier, an intermediate in chemical production (especially herbicides), a degreasing agent, and a lubricant. Trichlorobenzene isomers have been identified in pulp and paper mill effluents. Effluents from iron and steel manufacturing contribute to the environmental load of trichlorobenzenes, while petroleum refinery effluents have been reported to contain trichlorobenzene isomers. The more highly chlorinated benzenes, particularly hexachlorobenzene, are subject to reductive dechlorination, which may contribute to the accumulation of the lower chlorinated homologues (example, dichlorobenzenes and trichlorobenzenes) in buried sediments.

References

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME). 1999. Canadian water quality guidelines for the protection of aquatic life: Chlorinated benzenes 1,2,3-Trichlorobenzene. In: Canadian environmental quality guidelines, 1999, Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Winnipeg. Canada. (Viewed December 2013)

Government of Canada. 1993. Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA). Priority Substances List Assessment Report: Trichlorobenzenes. Environment Canada and Health Canada Ottawa. (Viewed December 2013)

Environment Canada. 2003. Follow-up report on five PSL1 substances for which there was insufficient information to conclude whether the substances constitute a danger to the environment. Government of Canada. (Viewed December 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : 1,2,4-trichlorobenzène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

120-82-1

Formule chimique 

C6H3Cl4

Masse moléculaire

181,5 g/mol

Famille

Chlorobenzènes

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion / ébullition 17 0C / 213 0CSous forme liquide ou solide
Densité 1,45Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur0.3 mm HgPeu volatil
Densité de vapeur6,3Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau40 mg/LPeu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry2 x 10-3atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)2.8 - 3.9*Adsorption forte sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le 1,2,4-trichlorobenzène se retrouve sous forme liquide ou solide. Plus dense que l'eau, le 1,2,4-trichlorobenzène est peu volatil et peu soluble. Il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe fortement sur la matière organique. La forme solide présente dans le sol se solubilise lentement. Sous forme liquide, ce produit s'infiltre dans le sol ou ruisselle vers un cours d'eau avant de se volatiliser. Le 1,2,4-trichlorobenzène liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé lentement avant de se volatiliser en grande partie. Une fois la source disparue, la phase adsorbée prend du temps avant de disparaître à son tour en libérant les formes gazeuse et soluble du contaminant. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse sont généralement de taille assez réduite.

Santé et sécurité

Le 1,2,4-trichlorobenzène doit être manipulé avec précaution, car il est toxique.

Sources principales

Le 1,2,4-trichlorobenzène est l'isomère le plus commun des trichlorobenzènes. Bien qu'il n'y ait actuellement aucun producteur de trichlorobenzènes au Canada, on estime qu'entre 40 et 50 tonnes par année de ces composés ont été importées dans les années '90. De cette quantité, environ 30 tonnes ont été utilisées comme solvants dans l'industrie manufacturière du textile, et environ 15 tonnes comme intermédiaires chimiques dans la production d'autres composés.

Dans le passé, les trichlorobenzènes ont été utilisés en combinaison avec les biphényles polychlorés (BPC) comme fluides diélectriques dans les transformateurs et condensateurs; cependant, après l'introduction en 1980 de règlements interdisant de nouveaux usages aux fluides diélectriques contenant des BPC, cet usage des trichlorobenzènes a beaucoup diminué. Environ 2,600,000 tonnes de trichlorobenzènes sont présentes dans les fluides diélectriques des transformateurs actuellement en usage ou en entreposage en attendant d'être détruits. Aux États-Unis, les trichlorobenzènes sont aussi utilisés comme agents dégraissants et comme lubrifiants.

Le 1,2,4-trichlorobenzène est utilisé industriellement comme solvant porteur pour la teinture, intermédiaire dans la production chimique (d'herbicides surtout), agent dégraissant et lubrifiant. Les isomères du trichlorobenzène ont été identifiés dans les effluents des usines de pâtes et papiers. On en retrouve dans les effluents des manufactures de fer et d'acier, et ils auraient été identifiés aussi dans les effluents des raffineries de pétrole. Les benzènes plus chlorés, et particulièrement le tétrachlorobenzène, sont sujets à la déchlorination réductive, qui peut contribuer à l'accumulation des homologues moins chlorés (c'est-à-dire. les dichlorobenzènes et trichlorobenzènes) dans les sédiments.

Références

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux : protection des utilisations de l'eau à des fins agricoles 1,2,3-trichlorobenzène, dans Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, 1999, Winnipeg. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Gouvernement du Canada. 1993. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE)- Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire - Rapport d'évaluation pour trichlorobenzènes. Environnement Canada et Santé Canada. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Environnement Canada. 2003. Rapport de suivi sur cinq substances de la LSIP1 pour lesquelles les renseignements permettant d'en arriver à une conclusion au sujet de leur danger pour l'environnement étaient insuffisants. Gouvernement du Canada. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, U.S.A.

Version :
1.0