Fact sheet: Trichloroethene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

79-01-6

Molecular formula

C2HCl3

Formula weight

131.4 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -86 0C / 87 0CLiquid
Relative density1.46Sinks in water
Vapour pressure70 mm HgVery volatile
Vapour density4.5Denser than air
Solubility in water1,300 mg/LModerately soluble
Henry's law constant1 x 10-2 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)1.7 - 1.22*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, trichloroethene is a liquid denser than water and very volatile. Characterized by moderate solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and adsorbs moderately to organic matter. During a spill, this compound will mostly evaporate but may also enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), trichloroethene will dissolve or sink until it reaches an impermeable surface. Liquid trichloroethene that accumulates in a saturated zone will gradually dissolve before partially volatilizing. The adsorbed trichloroethene in the vadose and saturated zones will rapidly disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively large in size.

Health and safety

Trichloroethene should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

Trichloroethene is produced industrially through the reaction of 1,2-dichloroethane with chlorine and/or hydrogen chloride and oxygen to form trichloroethene and tetrachloroethene. The Canadian production of trichloroethene ceased in 1985. Trichloroethene enters the aquatic environment through industrial discharges, landfill leaching, accidental spills, and improper storage and disposal. Trichloroethene is also a known degradation product of tetrachloroethene.

The most important use of trichloroethene is degreasing of metal parts in automotive and metals industries. Trichloroethene is an excellent extraction solvent for greases, oils, fats, waxes and tars, and is used by the textile processing industry to scour cotton, wool and other fabrics. The textile industry also uses trichloroethene as a solvent in waterless dying and finishing operations. It is also present in dry cleaning facilities. As a general solvent or as a component of solvent blends, trichloroethene is used with adhesives, lubricants, paints, varnishes and paint strippers. Trichloroethene is also used as an intermediate in the production of polyvinyl chloride (PVC), pharmaceuticals, polychlorinated aliphatics, flame retardant chemicals and insecticides. Trichloroethene is used as a refrigerant for low-temperature heat transfer and is found in various consumer products including writing correction fluids, paint removers, adhesives, spot removers and rug-cleaning fluids.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Trichloroethylene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed December 2013).

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. 1999. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life: Chlorinated Ethenes (1,1,2-trichloroethene (trichloroethylene). In: Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed March 2010).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Trichloroéthène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

79-01-6

Formule chimique 

C2HCl3

Masse moléculaire

131,4 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -86 0C / 87 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 1,46Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur70 mm HgTrès volatil
Densité de vapeur4,5Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau1,300 mg/LMoyennement soluble
Constante, loi de Henry1 x 10-2 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)1.7 - 1.22*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le trichloroéthène est un liquide plus dense que l'eau et très volatil. Moyennement soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore en grande partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. S'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le trichloroéthène sous forme liquide sera solubilisé ou s'écoulera jusqu'à ce qu'il rencontre une surface imperméable. Le trichloroéthène liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé graduellement avant de se volatiliser en partie. La phase adsorbée présente dans les zones vadose et saturée disparaît rapidement en libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse peuvent être relativement importants.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le trichloroéthène est toxique.

Sources principales

Le trichloroéthène est produit de façon industrielle à partir du 1,2-dichloroéthane qu'on fait réagir avec du chlore, ou avec de l'acide chlorhydrique et de l'oxygène. Du tétrachloroéthène est aussi obtenu comme sous-produit lors de ces réactions. Le Canada ne produit plus de trichloroéthène depuis 1985. Le trichloroéthène se retrouve dans l'environnement à cause de réservoirs qui fuient, de déversements accidentels, ou encore de procédures d'élimination inadéquates. Il peut aussi s'accumuler dans l'environnement suite à la dégradation du tétrachloroéthène.

L'utilisation la plus importante pour le trichloroéthène est le dégraissage du métal dans les industries de l'automobile et des métaux. C'est aussi un excellent solvant d'extraction pour les graisses, les huiles, les cires et les goudrons. Dans l'industrie du textile, on l'utilise pour traiter le coton, la laine et d'autres tissus, pour solubiliser certains colorants, pour des opérations de finissage ainsi que pour le nettoyage à sec. Comme solvant, seul ou en mélange, il entre dans la composition d'adhésifs, de lubrifiants, de peintures, de vernis, etc. Le trichloroéthène permet aussi de fabriquer du polychlorure de vinyle (PVC), d'autres hydrocarbures aliphatiques polychlorés, des produits ignifuges, des médicaments, des insecticides et peut être utilisé comme fluide frigorigène dans des systèmes de refroidissement opérant à basse température. On retrouve aussi le trichloroéthène dans plusieurs biens de consommation comme des correcteurs liquides pour le papier, des adhésifs, des décapants pour les vernis ou la peinture, ainsi que des produits pour nettoyer les tapis et pour enlever les taches.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Trichloroethylene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en décembre 2013).

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Éthènes chlorés (1,1,2-trichloroéthène). Dans: Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement. Manitoba, Canada. (consulté en mars 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :