Fact sheet: Toluene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

108-88-3

Molecular formula

C7H8

Formula weight

92.1 g/mol

Family

Monocyclic aromatic hdrocarbons (MAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -95 0C / 110 0CLiquid
Relative density0.87Floats on water
Vapour pressure25 mm HgModerately volatile
Vapour density3.2Denser than air
Solubility in water525 mg/LLow solubility
Henry's law constant6 x 10-3 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)1.7 - 3.0*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, toluene is a liquid that floats on water and is low to moderately volatile. Characterized by its low solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and adsorbs moderately to organic matter. During a spill, this compound will evaporate in part but the majority of the product will enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Liquid toluene can accumulate along the capillary fringe (groundwater) or form a film on the water's surface which will promote its solubilization and volatilization. The adsorbed toluene in the vadose and saturated zones will take some time to disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous (primarily) or dissolved state. The resulting dissolved plume will be generally limited in size while the gaseous plume will be relatively large in size.

Health and safety

Toluene should be handled with care as it is flammable and toxic.

Principal resources

Toluene is an aromatic hydrocarbon naturally present in crude petroleum and in the tolu tree. It is produced during the refining of crude oil, in making coke from coal, and as a by-product of styrene manufacturing. Toluene is added to gasoline along with benzene and xylene. The largest releases of toluene occur during the production, transportation and use of gasoline, which contains about 5 to 7 % toluene by weight (more than 10 % in premium unleaded).

Toluene is also a good solvent and thus used in making paints, paint thinners, fingernail polish, lacquers, adhesives, and rubber, as well as in some printing and leather tanning processes. Significant quantities of toluene are released in association with the production, use and disposal of industrial and consumer products that contain toluene.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2000. Toxicological Profile for Toluene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed December 2013)

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. 1999. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life: Toluene. In: Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed March 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Toluène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

108-88-3

Formule chimique 

C7H8

Masse moléculaire

92,1 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aromatiques monocycliques (HAM)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -95 0C / 110 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 0,87Flotte sur l'eau
Pression de vapeur25 mm HgMoyennement volatil
Densité de vapeur3,2Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau525 mg/LPeu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry6 x 10-3 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)1.7 - 3.0*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le toluène est un liquide moins dense que l'eau et moyennement volatil. Peu soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore un peu, mais la plus grande partie s'infiltre dans le sol ou encore ruisselle vers un cours d'eau. Le toluène peut s'accumuler sous forme liquide sur la frange capillaire (eau souterraine) ou former un film à la surface de l'eau, ce qui favorise sa volatilisation et sa solubilisation. La phase adsorbée créée lors de l'infiltration dans le sol mettra un certain temps avant de disparaître, libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse (surtout) et soluble. Le panache de la phase dissoute est généralement de taille limitée, alors que celui de la phase gazeuse peut-être de taille plus importante.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le toluène est inflammable et toxique.

Sources principales

Le toluène est un hydrocarbure aromatique présent naturellement dans le pétrole brut et dans l'arbre baumier de Tolu. Il est recueilli lors du raffinage du pétrole brut et du charbon, mais il est aussi un sous-produit de la fabrication du styrène. On ajoute du toluène, de même que du benzène et du xylène, dans les formulations d'essence. Le contenu en toluène de l'essence peut atteindre 5 à 7 %, voire plus. Les fuites et déversements d'essence sont donc une source majeure de toluène dans l'environnement.

Le toluène est aussi utilisé comme solvant dans la fabrication de peintures, de diluants à peinture, de polis à ongles, de laques, d'adhésifs et de caoutchouc. Il est également parfois utilisé dans les imprimeries et pour le tannage du cuir. La production et l'utilisation industrielle et commerciale de produits contenant du toluène, de même que les eaux de lixiviation des sites d'enfouissement recevant ces produits, constituent une source importante de rejet de ce polluant dans l'environnement.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2000. Toxicological Profile for Toluene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999.Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Toluène. Dans: Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, Canada. (consulté en mars 2010).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :