Fact sheet: Styrene

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

100-42-5

Molecular formula

C8H8

Formula weight

104.2 g/mol

Family

Monocyclic aromatic hdrocarbons (MAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -33 0C / 145 0CLiquid
Relative density0.91Floats on water
Vapour pressure6 mm HgModerately volatile
Vapour density3.6Denser than air
Solubility in water150 mg/LLow solubility
Henry's law constant4 x 10-3 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)3.5 - 5.0*Strong adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, styrene is a liquid that floats on water and is moderately volatile. Characterized by its low solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and strongly adsorbs to organic matter. During a spill, this compound will partially evaporate but the majority of the product will enter into the soil or drain into a waterway. Liquid styrene can accumulate along the capillary fringe (groundwater) or form a film on the water surface which will promote its solubilization and volatilization. The adsorbed styrene in the vadose and saturated zones will take a long time to disappear, slowly liberating contamination in primarily in the gaseous, or the dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively limited in size.

Health and safety

Styrene should be handled with care as it is flammable and toxic.

Principal resources

Styrene is an aromatic hydrocarbon produced industrially in large quantities, principally from ethylbenzene. Styrene is primarily used in the production of polystyrene plastics and resins for insulation or in the fabrication of fiberglass boats. It is also used in the production of copolymers such as styrene-acrylonitrile (SAN) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) which are used in manufacturing pipes, automotive components and plastic drinking glasses; styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) used in manufacturing car tires, hoses for industrial purposes and shoes; or combined with unsaturated polyester resins used to reinforce fiberglass materials.

Styrene is an important industrial chemical in terms of volume and release into the environment can occur during its manufacturing, storage, transportation and processing. Typical sources of industrial styrene releases are those facilities producing styrene, polystyrene, other plastics, synthetic rubber and resins. Soil and sediments may become contaminated with styrene due to chemical spills, landfill disposal of styrene-containing wastes or the discharge of styrene-contaminated water.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2007. Toxicological Profile for Styrene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed December 2013).

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. 1999. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life: Styrene. In: Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed March 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Styrène

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

100-42-5

Formule chimique 

C8H8

Masse moléculaire

104,2 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aromatiques monocycliques (HAM)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -33 0C / 145 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 0,91Flotte sur l'eau
Pression de vapeur6 mm HgMoyennement volatil
Densité de vapeur3,6Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau150 mg/LPeu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry4 x 10-3 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)3.5 - 5.0*Adsorption forte sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le styrène est un liquide moins dense que l'eau et moyennement volatil. Peu soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe fortement sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore un peu, mais la plus grande partie s'infiltre dans le sol ou ruisselle vers un cours d'eau. Le styrène peut s'accumuler sous forme liquide sur la frange capillaire (eau souterraine) ou former un film à la surface de l'eau, ce qui favorise sa volatilisation et sa solubilisation. La phase adsorbée créée lors de l'infiltration dans le sol prendra assez longtemps avant de disparaître, libérant lentement le contaminant sous forme gazeuse (surtout) et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse sont généralement de taille relativement limitée.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le styrène est inflammable et toxique.

Sources principales

Le styrène est un hydrocarbure aromatique produit industriellement à grande échelle, principalement à partir d'éthylbenzène. Le styrène est surtout utilisé pour la production de polystyrène, sous forme de plastiques ou de résines, qui permet entre autres la fabrication d'isolant et de fibre de verre pour les bateaux. Le styrène donne aussi des copolymères comme le styrène-acrylonitrile (SAN) et le styrène-acrylonitrile-butadiène (ABS), utilisés pour la fabrication de tuyaux, de pièces pour l'industrie automobile et de verres en plastique. On produit aussi un caoutchouc à base de styrène et de butadiène (SBR) qui permet la fabrication de pneus, de boyaux à usages industriels, de chaussures, ou encore le renforcement de la fibre de verre lorsque combiné avec des résines de polyester.

Des rejets de styrène dans l'environnement peuvent survenir lors de sa fabrication, son entreposage, son transport ou encore lors de sa transformation. Les sources industrielles d'émission de styrène sont les usines où sont produits le styrène, le polystyrène, les copolymères du styrène, le caoutchouc synthétique et les autres résines. Le styrène peut se retrouver dans le sol et l'eau suite à des déversements, des fuites de réservoirs ou du fait de la lixiviation de sites d'enfouissement.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2007. Toxicological Profile for Styrene. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en décembre 2013).

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Styrène. Dans: Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, Canada (consulté en mars 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :