Fact sheet: Hexachloroethane

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

67-72-1

Molecular formula

C2Cl6

Formula weight

236.7 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point 187 0CSolid
Relative density2.09Sinks in water
Vapour pressure0.5 mm HgLow volatility
Vapour density8.2Denser than air
Solubility in water50 mg/LLow solubility
Henry's law constant6 x 10-3 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)Strong adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, hexachloroethane is a solid with low volatility. Characterized by low solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and adsorbs strongly to organic matter. When present in soil, this compound will volatilize slowly and solubilize slowly. Once dissolved, it will either enter into the groundwater table or migrate towards a waterway, where it will be diluted, before rapidly volatilizing. Adsorbed hexachloroethane will take a very long time to disappear, being released in its gaseous or dissolved forms. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively small in size.

Health and safety

Hexachloroethane should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

Hexachloroethane is not a naturally occurring compound. It is produced by the chlorination of tetrachloroethene, or as a by-product of the industrial production of other chlorinated hydrocarbons. Hexachloroethane can also be formed when materials containing chlorinated hydrocarbons are incinerated.

The industrial use hexachloroethane was once quite extensive but is currently diminishing. One of its main uses is in metal and alloy production, mainly as degassing pellets to remove the air bubbles during aluminum alloy refining. It is also used to remove impurities from molten metals, recovering metals from ores or smelting products and improving the quality of various metals and alloys. Large amounts of hexachloroethane are also used by the military. Hexachloroethane, when mixed with zinc, zinc oxide, or titanium dioxide, is commonly used to produce military smoke munitions (example, candles and grenades used to generate "smoke" or "fog") and pyrotechnics.

Other applications for hexachloroethane include its addition to combustible liquids as an ignition suppressant, as a component of fire extinguishing fluids, and as a polymer additive in a variety of applications. It has also been used in fungicidal and insecticidal formulations, and was once prescribed for de-worming animals (sheep). Other uses, in limited quantities, are as a component of submarine paints and extreme pressure lubricants.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Hexachloroethane. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed March 2010)

National Toxicology Program. 2005. Report on Carcinogens, Eleventh Edition: Substance Profile of Hexachloroethane. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, USA.(PDF, 325KB) (Viewed March 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Hexachloroéthane

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

67-72-1

Formule chimique 

C2Cl6

Masse moléculaire

236,7 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition 187 0CSous forme solide
Densité 2,09Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur0.5 mm HgPeu volatil
Densité de vapeur8,2Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau50 mg/LPeu soluble
Constante, loi de Henry6 x 10-3 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)Adsorption forte sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, l'hexachloroéthane est un solide qui est peu volatil. Peu soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe assez fortement sur la matière organique. Lorsque présent dans le sol, ce produit se volatilise légèrement ou se solubilise très lentement. La forme soluble peut atteindre la nappe phréatique ou s'écouler vers un cours d'eau où elle peut se volatiliser rapidement. La phase adsorbée présente dans les zones vadose et saturée met assez longtemps avant de disparaître, libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse sont de taille assez réduite.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car l'hexachloroéthane est toxique.

Sources principales

L'hexachloroéthane n'existe pas dans la nature, il est obtenu par chloration du tétrachloroéthène, ou comme sous-produit lors de la fabrication d'autres hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés. Il peut aussi être généré par des incinérateurs lorsque des produits contenant des hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés sont brûlés.

Les utilisations pour l'hexachloroéthane ont déjà été nombreuses, mais elles ont tendance à être graduellement de moins en moins importantes. On s'en sert beaucoup pour la production de métaux et d'alliages, principalement d'alliages d'aluminium auxquels on l'ajoute sous forme de pastilles dans les mélanges fondus pour favoriser leur dégazage. Cette technique aide aussi à débarrasser les métaux fondus de leurs impuretés, à récupérer les métaux des minerais et à améliorer de manière générale la qualité des différents métaux et alliages. De grandes quantités d'hexachloroéthane sont aussi utilisées par l'industrie militaire. Lorsque mélangé avec du zinc, de l'oxyde de zinc ou du dioxyde de titane, l'hexachloroéthane permet la fabrication de munitions fumigènes (par exemple des chandelles ou des grenades fumigènes) et de pièces pyrotechniques. Les fumées de ces munitions contiennent du tétrachloroéthène et du tétrachlorure de carbone.

Vu ses propriétés ininflammables, l'hexachloroéthane est parfois utilisé dans les combustibles liquides afin de diminuer leur inflammabilité, ou dans les fluides ignifuges pour les extincteurs d'incendie. Il sert aussi d'additif dans divers polymères, intervient dans la fabrication de peintures pour les sous-marins, de lubrifiants pouvant résister à de très hautes pressions, de fongicides et d'insecticides. L'hexachloroéthane a même déjà été prescrit pour aider certains animaux (moutons) à se débarrasser de leurs vers intestinaux.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Hexachloroethane. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en mars 2010)

National Toxicology Program. 2005. Report on Carcinogens, Eleventh Edition: Substance Profile of Hexachloroethane. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, USA.(PDF, 325KB) (consulté en mars 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :