Fact sheet: Dichloromethane

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

75-09-2

Molecular formula

CH2Cl2

Formula weight

84.9 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -96 0C / -40 0CLiquid
Relative density1.33Sinks in water
Vapour pressure375 mm HgVery volatile
Vapour density2.9Denser than air
Solubility in water15,000 mg/LVery soluble
Henry's law constant2 x 10-3 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)1.0 - 2.3*Weak adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, dichloromethane is a liquid denser than water and very volatile. Characterized as very soluble, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and adsorbs weakly to organic matter. During a spill, the majority of this compound will evaporate but may also enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), dichloromethane will primarily dissolve or will sink until it reaches an impermeable surface. The liquid dichloromethane that accumulates in a saturated zone will rapidly dissolve before significant volatilization occurs. The adsorbed dichloromethane in the vadose and saturated zones will rapidly disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively large in size.

Health and safety

Dichloromethane should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

Dichloromethane is produced industrially by a two step process: methane or methanol is chlorinated followed by the chlorination of the resulting chloromethane. Production of dichloromethane grew steadily through the 1970s and early 1980s, but has since declined as more manufacturers move towards water-based aerosol systems in anticipation of more stringent regulations. Canada imports, rather than produces, dichloromethane.

Dichloromethane has been widely used as a solvent in paint strippers and varnish removers, as a propellant in aerosols, as a solvent in the manufacturing of drugs, pharmaceuticals and film coatings, as a metal cleaning and finishing solvent, in electronics manufacturing, and as an agent in urethane foam blowing. Aerosol products in which dichloromethane may be found include paints, automotive products, and insect sprays. Dichloromethane is also approved in Canada for use as a post-harvest insecticidal fumigant for stored grains. It is also a common by-product of pulp and paper bleaching.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2000. Toxicological Profile for Methylene Chloride. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed December 2013)

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, 1999. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life: Halogenated Methanes (dichloromethane). In: Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed March 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Dichlorométhane

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

75-09-2

Formule chimique 

CH2Cl2

Masse moléculaire

84,9 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -96 0C / -40 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 1,33Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur375 mm HgTrès volatil
Densité de vapeur2,9Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau15,000 mg/LTrès soluble
Constante, loi de Henry2 x 10-3 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)1.0 - 2.3*Adsorption faible sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le dichlorométhane est un liquide plus dense que l'eau et très volatil. Très soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe faiblement sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore en grande partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. S'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le dichlorométhane sous forme liquide sera solubilisé (surtout) ou s'écoulera jusqu'à ce qu'il rencontre une surface imperméable. Le dichlorométhane liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé rapidement avant de se volatiliser en partie. La phase adsorbée présente dans les zones vadose et saturée disparaît très rapidement en libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse ont tendance à être importants.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le dichlorométhane est toxique.

Sources principales

La production industrielle de dichlorométhane se fait en deux étapes : d'abord la chloration du méthane ou du méthanol, puis la chloration du chlorométhane obtenu à la première étape. La production de dichlorométhane a été croissante dans les années 1970 et 1980, mais elle est déclinante depuis puisque les manufacturiers optent de plus en plus pour des propulseurs aérosols à base d'eau afin de se mettre à l'abri des resserrements de la réglementation. Le Canada ne produit pas de dichlorométhane mais il en importe.

Le dichlorométhane a été largement utilisé à diverses fins, comme solvant pour les décapants à peinture et à vernis, comme propulseur aérosols, comme solvant de procédé pour la fabrication de médicaments et de revêtements en couches minces, comme solvant pour le nettoyage de finition du métal, dans la fabrication de matériel électronique et comme agent soufflant pour la mousse d'uréthane. Les peintures, produits nettoyants pour l'automobile et insectifuges en aérosols sont des exemples de produits pouvant contenir du dichlorométhane. Au Canada, le dichlorométhane est approuvé comme agent de fumigation insecticide pour le traitement des grains entreposés. C'est aussi un sous-produit commun de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers suite au blanchiment.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 2000. Toxicological Profile for Methylene Chloride. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en mars 2010)

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Méthanes halogénés (dichlorométhane). Dans: Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, Manitoba, Canada. (consulté en décembre 2013)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :