Fact sheet: Chloromethane

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

74-87-3

Molecular formula

CH3Cl

Formula weight

50.5 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -97 0C / -24 0CGas
Relative density0.92Liquid form floats on water
Vapour pressure3,800 mm HgExtremely volatile
Vapour density1.7Denser than air
Solubility in water6,000 mg/LModerately soluble
Henry's law constant8 x 10-3 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)Weak adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, chloromethane is a gas that is easily liquefied under pressure and is both stored and transported by industry in its liquid form. Liquefied chloromethane it floats on water and is extremely volatile. Moderately soluble, it volatilizes rapidly when dissolved and binds weakly to organic matter. During a spill of liquefied chloromethane, the majority of the product will volatilize but can also enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), chloromethane will mainly volatilize or dissolve before volatilizing. The adsorbed product resulting from a spill will disappear very rapidly in its gaseous state. The resulting gaseous plume in the soil will be significant while any dissolved plume will be relatively small in size.

Health and safety

Chloromethane should be handled with care as it is flammable and toxic.

Principal resources

Chloromethane is a natural and ubiquitous constituent of the oceans and atmosphere (it is the dominant organochlorine species in the atmosphere). Chloromethane has also been detected in surface waters, drinking water, groundwater and soils. It is both an anthropogenic and naturally occurring chemical. Anthropogenic sources include industrial production, burning of polyvinyl and wood. Natural sources are important and include the oceans, microbial fermentation and biomass fires.

Chloromethane is produced industrially by the reaction of methanol with hydrogen chloride or by the chlorination of methane. It is used mainly in the production of silicones, but also in the production of higher chlorinated methanes (dichloromethane, chloroform and carbon tetrachloride), agricultural chemicals, methyl cellulose, quaternary amines, medicinal drugs and synthetic rubber. In the past, chloromethane was widely used as a refrigerant, foam-blowing agent, fumigant, component in industrial solvents, and propellant in some cleansers. Chloromethane is no longer present in these products because of its toxic effects. Typically, manufacturing plants that produce chloromethane consume almost all their output internally as a feedstock for the production of other chemicals.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), 1998. Toxicological Profile for chloromethane, updated 2009. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed December 2013).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Chlorométhane

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

74-87-3

Formule chimique 

CH3Cl

Masse moléculaire

50,5 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion / ébullition -97 0C / -24 0CSous forme gazeuse
Densité 0,92Le liquide flotte sur l'eau
Pression de vapeur3,800 mm HgExtrêmement volatil
Densité de vapeur1,7Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau6,000 mg/LMoyennement soluble
Constante, loi de Henry8 x 10-3 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)Adsorption faible sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le chlorométhane est un gaz qui est facilement liquéfié sous pression et qui est entreposé et transporté sous cette forme dans l'industrie. La forme liquide flotte sur l'eau et est extrêmement volatile. Moyennement soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe faiblement sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement du produit liquéfié, celui-ci s'évapore en bonne partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. S'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le chlorométhane sera volatilisé (surtout) et solubilisé (pour ensuite se volatiliser). La phase adsorbée créée lors de l'infiltration disparaît très rapidement en libérant le contaminant sous sa forme gazeuse. Le panache de la forme gazeuse dans le sol est important, alors que celui de la phase dissoute est généralement de taille limitée.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le chlorométhane est inflammable et toxique.

Sources principales

Le chlorométhane est un composé naturel omniprésent dans les océans et l'atmosphère (c'est le composé organochloré dominant dans l'atmosphère). Le chlorométhane a aussi été détecté dans les eaux de surface, l'eau souterraine et dans les sols. C'est un composé à la fois naturel et d'origine humaine. Les sources d'origine humaine incluent la production industrielle et la combustion de bois et de produits contenant du polychlorure de vinyle (PVC). Les sources naturelles sont importantes et incluent les océans, les fermentations microbiennes et les feux de forêt et de broussailles.

Le chlorométhane est obtenu industriellement par réaction du méthanol avec l'acide chlorhydrique, ou par chloration du méthane. Il est utilisé surtout pour la production de silicones, mais aussi pour la production de dichlorométhane, chloroforme et tétrachlorure de carbone, de composés chimiques agricoles, de méthylcellulose, d'amines quaternaires, de médicaments et de caoutchouc synthétique. Dans le passé, le chlorométhane a été beaucoup utilisé comme fluide frigorigène, agent de gonflement pour les mousses, agent de fumigation, dans la composition de solvants industriels et comme propulseur aérosols pour certains nettoyants. Il n'est plus utilisé à ces fins de nos jours vu les dangers qu'il présente. En général, les usines qui fabriquent encore du chlorométhane l'utilisent presque entièrement et rapidement, dans les mêmes installations où il a été fabriqué, afin de produire d'autres composés chimiques.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), 1998. Toxicological Profile for chloromethane, updated 2009. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en décembre 2013).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Version :
1.0