Fact sheet: Chloroform

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page

General information

CAS number

67-66-3

Molecular formula

CHCl3

Formula weight

119.4 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -137 °C / 12 °CLiquid
Relative density1.48 g/cm3Sinks in water
Vapour pressure170 mm HgVery volatile
Vapour density4.1Denser than air
Solubility in water7,000 mg/LModerately soluble
Henry's law constant3 x 10-3 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)1.5 - 2.0*Moderate adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, chloroform is a liquid denser than water and very volatile. Characterized by moderate solubility, it will volatilize rapidly once dissolved and adsorbs moderately to organic matter. During a spill, the majority of the compound evaporates but may also enter into the soil or migrate into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), the chloroform will dissolve or sink until it reaches an impermeable surface. The liquid chloroform that accumulates in a saturated zone will gradually dissolve before volatilization occurs. The adsorbed chloroform in the vadose and saturated zones will rapidly disappear, liberating contamination in either the gaseous or dissolved state. The resulting plumes (gaseous or dissolved) will be relatively large in size.

Health and safety

Chloroform should be handled with care as it is toxic.

Principal resources

Chloroform is produced industrially by either the chlorination of methane or the chlorination of chloromethane. Canada has not produced chloroform since 1976, but continues to import chloroform. Nearly all the chloroform produced is used to make other chemicals, primarily chlorodifluoromethane (HFC-22) (HFC-22) (hydrochlorofluorocarbon-22), which is used as a refrigerant, and in the production of fluoropolymers. HCFC-22 is one of the few fluorocarbons not restricted by the Montreal Protocol on ozone depleting chemicals. Other miscellaneous uses include aerosol propellant, solvent and degreasing agent, spot remover in dry cleaning, solvent for the industrial, pharmaceutical and analytical chemistry, heat transfer medium in fire extinguishers, and intermediate in the preparation of dyes and pesticides.

Chloroform enters the environment from chemical companies and paper mills. It is also found in wastewater from sewage treatment plants and drinking water to which chlorine has been added. Chlorine is added to most drinking water and many wastewaters to destroy bacteria. Small amounts of chloroform are formed as an unwanted product during water chlorination.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Chloroform. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed March 2010)

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, 1999. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life: Halogenated Methanes, Trichloromethane (Chloroform). In: Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Manitoba, Canada. (Viewed March 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Version:
1.2.1

Fiche descriptive : Chloroforme

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

67-66-3

Formule chimique 

CHCl3

Masse moléculaire

119,4 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion/ébullition -137 0C / 12 0CSous forme liquide
Densité 1,48Coule au fond de l'eau
Pression de vapeur170 mm HgTrès volatil
Densité de vapeur4,1Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau7,000 mg/LMoyennement soluble
Constante, loi de Henry3 x 10-3 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)1.5 - 2.0*Adsorption modérée sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le chloroforme est un liquide plus dense que l'eau et très volatil. Moyennement soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe modérément sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement, ce produit s'évapore en grande partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. S'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le chloroforme sous forme liquide sera solubilisé ou s'écoulera jusqu'à ce qu'il rencontre une surface imperméable. Le chloroforme liquide accumulé dans la zone saturée sera solubilisé graduellement avant de se volatiliser en partie. La phase adsorbée présente dans les zones vadose et saturée disparaît rapidement en libérant le contaminant sous ses formes gazeuse et soluble. Les panaches des phases dissoute et gazeuse ont tendance à être relativement importants.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le chloroforme est toxique.

Sources principales

Le chloroforme, ou trichlorométhane, est obtenu industriellement par chloration du méthane ou du chlorométhane. Le Canada ne produit plus de chloroforme depuis 1976, mais continue d'en importer. Presque toute la production de chloroforme sert à la fabrication d'autres composés chimiques, principalement du chlorodifluorométhane (ou HCFC-22), utilisé comme fluide frigorigène et dans la production de fluoropolymères. Le HCFC-22 est l'un des seuls fluorocarbures dont l'utilisation n'a pas été restreinte par le Protocole de Montréal sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone. On connaît d'autres applications pour le chloroforme comme propulseur d'aérosols, solvant et agent de dégraissage, agent antitache pour le nettoyage à sec, dans l'industrie pharmaceutique et en chimie analytique, dans les extincteurs d'incendie et pour la production de teintures et de pesticides.

Le chloroforme qu'on retrouve dans l'environnement provient de compagnies chimiques ou d'usines de pâte et papier. Mais il provient aussi des usines d'épuration des eaux usées et de production d'eau potable qui utilisent du chlore pour détruire les bactéries. De petites quantités de chloroforme sont formées comme sous-produit indésirable lors de la chloration de ces eaux.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). 1997. Toxicological Profile for Chloroform. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en mars 2010)

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. 1999. Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux: protection de la vie aquatique: Méthanes halogénés (trichlorométhane). Dans: Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement, Manitoba, Canada. (consulté en mars 2010)

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date de modification :