Fact sheet: Chloroethane

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Discover a list of a contaminant's important chemical properties, how it will react in the environment, main sources of contamination related, and a brief overview of health and safety issues.

On this page


General information

CAS number

75-00-3

Molecular formula

C2H5Cl

Formula weight

64.5 g/mol

Family

Chlorinated aliphatic hydrocarbons (CAH)

Properties (at room temperature where applicable)

Compound properties list
ParameterValueComment
Melting/boiling point -64 0C / 61 0CGas
Relative density0.89Liquid form floats on water
Vapour pressure1,100 mm HgExtremely volatile
Vapour density2.3Denser than air
Solubility in water5,700 mg/LModerately soluble
Henry's law constant1 x 10-2 atm·m3/molRapid volatilization when dissolved
log Koc (Depending on soil or sediment characteristics)Weak adsorption to organic matter

Environmental behaviour

At 20 0C, chloroethane is a gas that is easily liquefied under pressure and is both stored and transported by industry in its liquid form. When liquid, it floats on water and is extremely volatile. Moderately soluble, it rapidly volatilizes when dissolved and only binds weakly to organic matter. During a spill of liquefied chloroethane, the majority of the product will volatilize but can also enter into the soil or drain into a waterway. Once it encounters water (surface or subsurface), chloroethane will primarily volatilize or dissolve (followed by rapid volatilization). The adsorbed product resulting from a spill will disappear rapidly in its gaseous state. The resulting gaseous plume in the soil will be significant while any dissolved plume will be relatively small in size.

Health and safety

Chloroethane should be handled with care as it is flammable.

Principal resources

Chloroethane is a compound that is in the environment as a result of anthropogenic activity. Chloroethane is produced industrially, but its production has decreased drastically as leaded gasoline has been replaced by unleaded gasoline. In the past, the single largest use of chloroethane was in the production of tetraethyl lead. It is also used in the production of ethyl cellulose, dyes, medicinal drugs, and other commercial products such as refrigerants and solvent for oils, resins and waxes. It is also used to numb the skin before medical procedures such as ear piercing and skin biopsies and as a treatment in sports injuries.

References

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), 1998. Toxicological Profile for chloroethane. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (Viewed March 2010).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Date Modified:

Fiche descriptive : Chloroéthane

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Découvrez la liste des propriétés chimiques importantes d'un contaminant ainsi que la façon dont il va réagir dans l’environnement, les principales sources de contamination associées et un bref aperçu des questions de santé et sécurité.

Sur cette page


Informations générales

Numéro CAS 

75-00-3

Formule chimique 

C2H5Cl

Masse moléculaire

64,5 g/mol

Famille

Hydrocarbures aliphatiques chlorés (HAC)

Propriétés (à la température de la pièce lorsqu’applicable)

Liste des propriétés du composant
ParamètreValeurCommentaire
Point de fusion / ébullition -64 0C / 61 0CSous forme gazeuse
Densité 0,89Le liquide flotte sur l'eau
Pression de vapeur1,100 mm HgExtrêmement volatil
Densité de vapeur2,3Plus dense que l'air
Solubilité dans l’eau5,700 mg/LMoyennement soluble
Constante, loi de Henry1 x 10-2 atm·m3/molVolatilisation rapide lorsque solubilisé
log Koc (Selon les caractéristiques du sol ou du sédiment)Adsorption faible sur la matière organique

Comportement environnemental

À 20 0C, le chloroéthane est un gaz qui est facilement liquéfié sous pression et qui est entreposé et transporté sous cette forme dans l'industrie. La forme liquide flotte sur l'eau et est extrêmement volatile. Moyennement soluble, il se volatilise rapidement lorsque solubilisé et s'adsorbe faiblement sur la matière organique. Lors d'un déversement du produit liquéfié, celui-ci s'évapore en bonne partie, mais peut aussi s'infiltrer dans le sol ou ruisseler vers un cours d'eau. S'il atteint l'eau (souterraine ou de surface), le chloroéthane sera volatilisé (surtout) et solubilisé (pour ensuite se volatiliser rapidement). La phase adsorbée créée lors de l'infiltration disparaît très rapidement en libérant le contaminant sous sa forme gazeuse. Le panache de la forme gazeuse dans le sol est important, alors que celui de la phase dissoute est généralement de taille limitée.

Santé et sécurité

La prudence est de mise, car le chloroéthane est inflammable.

Sources principales

Le chloroéthane est un composé qui se retrouve dans l'environnement du fait de l'activité humaine. Le chloroéthane est produit de façon industrielle mais sa production a fortement diminué à la suite de l'abandon de l'essence au plomb au profit de l'essence sans plomb. Dans le passé, l'utilisation de loin la plus importante pour le chloroéthane était comme intermédiaire dans la production du tétraéthyle de plomb. Actuellement, le chloroéthane est utilisé dans la production d'éthylcellulose, de teintures, de médicaments et d'autres produits commerciaux comme des fluides frigorigènes et des solvants. Le chloroéthane est aussi utilisé pour insensibiliser la peau avant certaines interventions médicales, comme le perçage des oreilles et les biopsies de la peau, et pour le traitement des blessures sportives.

Références

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), 1998. Toxicological Profile for chloroethane. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Georgia, USA. (consulté en mars 2010).

Montgomery, John H. 2007. Groundwater Chemicals, Desk Reference, Fourth Edition, CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group, Florida, USA.

Version :
1.0